We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stay in Oban several times a year and always enjoys my nights at the Royal. As someone who travels on business it ticks all the boxes for me. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The real bonus is the hotel is accessable 24 hrs a day and im able to have a continental breakfast when leaving particularly early.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    288
    238
    129
    87
See reviews for
143
409
100
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were recently married and had our reception and evening dance at the hotel. From the moment we began planning our wedding to the last dance it was faultless. The staff were just amazing, nothing was a problem for them, all very attentive to our needs. They made our day and took away any worries we had of organising a wedding.
The food was brilliant all our guests have said to us how good the meal was, I think it was clean plates all round!
The hotel itself was spotless and a perfect wedding reception venue. The staff even set up our tables for us with all the individual touches I wanted. The whole day ran so smoothly because of the efficiency of the staff. We just can't thank the royal hotel and all the staff enough!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basset4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter PArk, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a dump. At over 160.00 dollars.. Not only are the rooms a closet size, toilets dirty, mold on ceiling , bath ceiling fixtures falling from out
, towels smell, no internet service, no parking....this is a rip off tourist trap. Unless you are desperate and forgot to book in advance, do not go here. Forgot, beds are hard as a rock.. Only a mattress on bed springs...food for breakfast is nasty...canned fruit, nothing made on sight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kindlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor & American Express Detective

I have read your review that you have recently posted with great interest, especially after reading your Comment Card that was also left at Reception for my perusal.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at the hotel, but I would like to correct a few opinions made regarding your stay here.

The room that you stayed in is compact in size but has been refurbished to a very high standard in the past 12 months, I also find your views regarding the towels and linen to be subjective. I would also like to clarify that the Kitchen is at the opposite end of building from the room that you stayed in.

We advertise Free Wi-Fi in our public areas but not in our bedrooms, some of our bedrooms on the 2nd floor do get coverage through signal strength.

Our Car Park holds 22 spaces, which is amongst the highest in town for a hotel, and are served on a first come first served basis.

Our beds are in the middle off a program of replacing and upgrading, this room is due for a new bed in the coming weeks.

Our Breakfast is generally well enjoyed by the majority of our guests, with over 70 items on the menu from Fresh Fruit, Juice and Yoghurt to the Full Scottish Breakfast, Which is all prepared in house. I am amused that you are focused on the 'Canned Fruit' when that is 2 items from our extensive and wholesome menu.

I am sorry that you feel the need to be so damming in your review especially considering the full information regarding your stay, If you had reported any issues to the staff or management at the time I am sure that we would of rectified them and you would have seen the true picture of the Royal Hotel.

I hope that you find a hotel that meets your very high standards in Scotland in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Some rooms have been renovated and some haven't. As a coach driver I tend to get put in a tiny room looking out into the back courtyard. However, it's clean and warm so not much to complain about. Bar prices are a little high but there's no shortage of bars in town. Food is generally pretty good. Location is excellent, right in the heart of town and ideally placed for the ferry to Mull.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel.

All of the rooms in Strathmore Hotels are in the process of upgrading starting from last year, our new approach is in its infancy but the early signs are fantastic. I hope that should you return to the Royal in the not too distant future, that you will see a noticeable difference in the décor and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Steven Reffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights.While the staff were generally friendly and helpful our room was not a welcoming place. The carpet was worn and the dust was thick. There was black colored mold growing in the wallpaper in the bathroom. The place was rowdy at night. Each morning when we went in to the hallway, all the pictures on the wall were crooked or even off the wall. When we asked about a good place for lunch, we were referred to what turned out to be, I think, the most expensive restaurant in town. On the positive side, there is a grocery store within walking distance if you want to stock up on snacks or pack a lunch. We purchased some cheese and the staff at the front desk willingly kept it in their refrigerator overnight. This could be a nice place if it underwent a major renovation.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photosavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently stayed here, ground floor looked like it had recently been decorated, once upstairs (dinning room on first floor, rooms above) it looks a little tired. Staff were pleasant enough. WIFI only available on the ground floor, in the bar. Overall, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay here at the Royal Hotel.

The Hotel has undergone the first stage of its refurbishment with further to come in the off season from 2014 - 2015. I hope that you should you return to Oban that you will use the Royal and that you will see the progress and improvement that is happening here.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Best Regards

Steven Reffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you arrive without high expectations you won't be disappointed. The hotel needs investment to bring it up to modern standards. Let's not be too picky but the same price in London gets a much better class of hotel (ok perhaps not at the height of the season). Nothing is awful, but nothing is great either. The rooms we were in were small with half size sinks, ok, it's a conversion I suppose. The decor is, well, depends on your taste, if you like the 1970s. The staff were ok. The bar area where children play is understandably messy (how long do you leave crumbs all over the floor) and don't expect to have everything that's on the breakfast menu available. The breakfast is traditional Scottish, with addition of tinned fruit, cereals.
The rooms are not the cleanest we have been in, but not the dirtiest either. The options within Oban seem limited as our daughter stayed in a more expensive place yesterday and it was not as good.
I suppose we shouldn't expect much from a three star accommodation, it's just that the world has become smaller and more competitive and I hope that part of the world arrives here. Will consider b&b next time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mackEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing