We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dismal and over priced.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed in room 301. It is tiny and dismal. Gloomy with dark decor and very little natural light and dim room lighting so you can barely brighten it enough to read.. By contrast the bathroom is bright and modern so I shifted a chair in there. The pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Also why is the Wi-Fi restricted to the ground floor?

It is a pity as the staff were nice and the breakfast and meal were good BUT the depressing bedroom would put me off going back. It is very over priced for a room of that size and quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

The rooms are tired - like I was after a poor nights sleep. Furniture and decorations in room are dated, bed uncomfortable, noisy from floor above and late night drunks outside. Has had little maintenance/investment but as long as the coach parties keep on coming, hey why spend money it's only tourists spending their hard earned money. Such a shame to see a beautiful old building in a fantastic location wasting away. We were on a road trip round Scotland staying at a different hotel every night and this was the only one where the breakfast was self service with rubber eggs that had been sat there a while, all the other cooked your food to order.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Was a but weary about staying here after reading some of the reviews. Although the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean, bed was comfortable, shower was warm and we had a great nights sleep. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with lovely staff. We also had a meal here at a great price, with free wifi in the lounge. Great location, 2 minute walk from the port. Would recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveller2013xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My Dad and I stayed here for a night after making a last minute decision to go to Oban. The staff was very friendly and helped us to figure out our train route. It is close to the train/ferry station which is good if you're on foot. Our room was great and the food downstairs wasn't bad. And free wi-fi in the bar was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Satchmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We won't be back at this hotel it needs an overhaul ,it's old fashioned needs a refresh of paint
Staff were nice so was breakfast but we look for more for the price they charge
Heard some one complaining about there room Pity we hadn't looked at review before we booked

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nellied55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in the Royal as my friend was having her wedding reception there. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I had a room on the top floor which had a nice view and big windows you can open. The room had everything you would need, good size, clean and had a lovely modern shower. The food at the reception was really good and breakfast the next morning was nice too. I would stay in the Royal again and reccommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor the views of oban are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni_25481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stay in Oban several times a year and always enjoys my nights at the Royal. As someone who travels on business it ticks all the boxes for me. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The real bonus is the hotel is accessable 24 hrs a day and im able to have a continental breakfast when leaving particularly early.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CapitalH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
0 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £49 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing