We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wildlife trip - shame about the weather!”
Review of Coastal Connection

Coastal Connection
Ranked #5 of 19 Tours in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Connection is based in Oban, Argyll and offers Wildlife trips and day excursions to Tobermory. Private charter is also available, 2hr, 1/2 day and full day. Each boat carries up to 12 passengers.Please visit our website and view the blog for more trip ideas.
London
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great wildlife trip - shame about the weather!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Struan took Jonathon and me out for the day to show us the local marine wildlife. We saw a wide variety of marine bird life and some seals, enjoyed a trip to Tobermory and a very comfortable ride home. Pity it started to rain half way through the day but there's not much any of us can do about that. The boat has a "roof" on it so we stayed dry even though the rain was very heavy at times. Got lots of photos to remind us what a good time we had.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out on the water”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went as a group of 10 and Cameron gave us a group concession for our trip out to Tobermory on the Isle of Mull. Cash payment on the day is preferred.
It was an overcast day, but Cameron was very knowledgeable about the various landmarks we encountered, and was very friendly. The boat is covered and comfortable, and we were able to move around and take photo's and video from the rear deck.
Tobermory was nice to explore and theres a nice little pub or two, gift shops and a distillery to check-out whilst you're there.
It was well worth doing. Thanks Cameron.
Wazza & Jodee (Australia)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JodeeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great day out.”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I organised a day trip over to Mull from Oban with Coastal Connections. The boys provided a very good service. The trip itself was great it felt safe and well organised. Many of the locals use this company which I think speaks volumes for the service they provide. Cameron provided useful information on all the sights which were fantastic and showed us the route itself on his ipad. (very cool) We booked a couple of days before our trip and the boat was full of locals going to the mull music festival. A great day out was had by all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gingerkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Amazing Mull”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Decided to try this company (run by twins) as an option to show Tobermory to our Australian family. Whilst more expensive than the ferry / bus combination is provided a fantastic and enjoyable means of visiting Mull and the very prety town of Tobermory. Cameron collected us from the centre of Oban and provided both a comentry and wild life viewing oportunities during the journey on his RIB. Highly recomended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly efficient way to see the isles”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

After seeing a good weather forecast for Sunday, we called Coastal Connections last minute, who arranged a private charter to include Iona, Staffa and the Corryvreckan. Struan, one of the brothers who owns the company picked us up 100m from our holiday house and took us on our way. Struan was very knowlegable enroute pointing out sights along the way. He even emailed a Google Earth map of our route after he dropped up off. It's not a cheap day out, but for something special to avoid hours of car ferries and windy roads it a great way to see a lot in one day away from the tourists.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunLuvinCriminals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Connection also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Coastal Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing