We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BB craving excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandvilla Guest House
Ranked #15 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BB craving excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This small BB tries to do everything a little better: The stairway and the whole house is tidy and well decorated, the rooms are comfortable and equipped with modern furniture. There is enough space for the luggage. The bathroom is in good shape. The house owners support you (even when moving to another BB next day). And breakfast is as fine as can be.

The price is a little higher than it is in other BBs, but this is worth it. Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azche24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Needed to find a B&B at short notice and was recommended this one. Great location just down from the town centre and owner let us check in early despite our room still being cleaned from the previous visitor. This allowed us to get on with viewing the sites rather than worrying about when to get checked in. Great service, friendly owners and lovely facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great location--no view, but just a two block walk from the promenade. Lovely!
That said, though, this just didn't feel like Scottish hospitality to us. Owners only appeared to check us in and serve breakfast. None of the typical cordiality or conversation.
But our real surprise was the attitude.
Our room was VERY small. (Room had only 3ft. on one side of the bed and 4 ft. at most on the other, one chair, a closet where clothes could only be hung parallel to the back wall because it had so little depth, and a bath that could not crowd in two people for any task.)
We saw into another room that was pleasantly larger and asked if it was available--ASKING INCREDIBLY NICELY. Joyce told us that if we weren't happy we certainly were free to move on.
For convenience we stayed the second night, but we would not return.

Room Tip: Don't take no.2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed two nights at this guesthouse in Oban and enjoyed it very much. It's a very easy walk into the center of town and to the piers and shops. Joyce was very friendly and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean with very attractive decor and seems brand new. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and ample, with the usual choices of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, and juices on a side table when you come in and the option to order full traditional Scottish breakfast, eggs, or Continental if you like. And toast, of course. The French pressed coffee was delicious. There is free wifi, but it is not always reliable and sometimes was hard to get connected to. The bed was very nice but somewhat hard and did have a top sheet as well as a comforter, which we need because the rooms in Scotland are usually too hot for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night and were very pleased with our modern, light and comfy room. The bathroom was also very nice and it all seemed fresh and new. I particularly liked the little make up mirror with lights round it. So often there is not adequate light for doing makeup. We could also park at the rear of the house. Joyce was very welcoming and Scott recommended 3 places to eat and we chose Chan Mar and had a lovely meal. It was only a few minutes walk away overlooking the harbour so house is in a very good location. Had a tasty breakfast next morning and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Our room was spotless with the most comfy bed I've experienced in any hotel or guest house. We were made to feel so welcome by the proprietor and the location is ideally situated just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. I would strongly recommend a stay here to anyone visiting the delightful town of Oban. We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed one night at Sandvilla this week - we meant to stay two, but had to leave early. Joyce was warm and welcoming and was very helpful when we needed to change our plans. The room was bright and spacious and comfortable. An easy 2 minute walk to the water and the centre of town. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandvilla Guest House

Property: Sandvilla Guest House
Address: Sand Villa 4 Strathaven Terrace Breadalbane Street | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandvilla Guest House is situated just a two minute walk to Oban Town Centre. We are within walking distance of both the train and the bus station and offer our guests free off-street parking for up to 4 cars.. All our rooms are newly decorated with flat screen televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandvilla Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandvilla Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing