We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandvilla Guest House
Ranked #15 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sandvilla is located on a street of B&B's just up from town center. We walked everywhere from here. Our room was tidy and clean, though a bit small. It was quiet. There are no public spaces in this B&B other than at breakfast the breakfast room is open. I don't know what it was about the breakfast room, but the set up did not make conversation between guests very easy. And since that is one big reason we like to stay in B&B's - the interesting conversations one usually has at breakfast - it was a disappointment. Perhaps it was just the mix of couples in the room that morning, or people taking their cue from the hosts who only came in perfunctorily to see who was there ready for their breakfast (preordered the night before).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Owner at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for review, we are glad you found our house to be clean and well kept. As a small family run Bed and Breakfast our home allows us to accommodate around 10 people in our 5 rooms, and similar to most small Bed and Breakfasts we don't have, or advertise a communal seating area, if ths is a preferance perhaps a hotel might be an option in future. On the weekend you stayed with us we had some really great feedback left in our visitors book and we feel disappointed that you didn't feel part of their experience. Breakfast time is a big part of our guests stay and as mentioned previously we are a family run house when at breakfast time Robert prepares breakfast and I serve. This allows me to find a balance of being able to chat to guests who have perhaps been out on a trip the previous day and still be able to ensure that breakfast runs smoothly. Preordered breakfasts work well for most people and again runs in line with most B&B's in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    33
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sandvilla is a pleasant B&B run by a very accommodating couple who are new in the business. Josephine and Robert did all they could for us, even parking our car in the designated place behind Sandvilla. They kept our room very clean and fresh, and the bathroom, although small, has everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious and in a friendly atmosphere with Josephine serving and other guests holding us in conversation. Sandvilla was a bit difficult to find as we were driving and there are many one-way streets. It is in walking distance to the center of everything in Oban. The ferry terminal is about 10 minutes away. We were very pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: A room on the back might be quieter on weekend nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomnrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Manager at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at Sandvilla. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and again thank you for your comments in our "visitors book" which read ' Loved it - great room and breakfast , thanks for your wonderful hospitality"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Josephine and Robert took over this bed and breakfast just a few weeks ago. Although it's their first foray into running a B&B, they're doing a wonderful job. The rooms are clean and bright. Josephine couldn't be more attentive and Robert's breakfasts are outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 5 is at the top of the house so it's quiet. Being tucked under the roof, the ceiling height...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkingsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Owner at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Was lovely to meet you and nice to know that you returned to Sandvilla for a second time. We will get you booked into one of our king size rooms the next time you return to Scotland! Thanks for your wonderful comments, nice to know we are doing things right :-) hope you are enjoying the rest of your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June and were very happy with the accommodations. We were close to the center of town, the room was small but comfortable, and clean (with a very nice shower), and breakfasts were delicious. The owners were there whenever we needed them, and were friendly and helpful. The only minor problem was an undependable wifi connection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Owner at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and were more than happy to help out with local attractions etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed a comfortable two nights at the Sandvilla Guest House. Josephine and Robert were friendly and helpful. This establishment is close to (under 10 minutes walk) the harbour an many fine restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable. The off-street parking could even take the monster car we rented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Owner at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our house, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sandvilla is well-located and we walked to the pier and city centre without the hassle of having to find a place to park. There's free parking at back of guest house. Room was clean & well-furnished & host was great. Enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yokemun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Manager at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I cannot rate this guest house highly enough and for the price it is such good value for money. The rooms were immaculate and very comfor,table, breakfast was fabulous too. The owners go that extra mile for you and were very kind and generious. We would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor so no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvilla01, Owner at Sandvilla Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was great to have you both here especially after your long journey on that hot day, we would be delighted to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandvilla Guest House

Property: Sandvilla Guest House
Address: Sand Villa 4 Strathaven Terrace Breadalbane Street | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandvilla Guest House is situated just a two minute walk to Oban Town Centre. We are within walking distance of both the train and the bus station and offer our guests free off-street parking for up to 4 cars.. All our rooms are newly decorated with flat screen televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandvilla Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandvilla Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing