We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Seafood Hut

Oban Seafood Hut
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped by the pier en route for some fish & chips for lunch and quickly changed out minds when we got a free taste of their hot smoked salmon - bought sandwiches of that, crab and prawn; all of which were well stuffed full and really tasty! If we're ever in Oban again we'll be back for more of their delicious food!

Helpful?
Thank mellamoalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    131
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fab - just book the weather in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Both my wife and I have visited Oban many times over the years - neither of us have ever seen it in the sunshine before!

So this visit was even more enlivened by a visit to the CalMac pier for a light seafood lunch - fresh crab sandwich / fresh prawn and sweet herrings. A tasty family lunch for £12.50....and so fresh. Wanted to try the mussels as well, not to mention the platter...it all looks so good!

Will be back next time the sun is out - maybe in 2025?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank seeitonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Even better on a sunny day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We got lucky: we arrived in Oban on a nice sunny day in the middle of easter.

We got even luckier: we stumbled across this place, looked it up on tripadvisor, made sure it was the right place (it's the one around the back, not at the front), then grossly over ordered.

The food is beautiful. Crab Claws. Mussels. Whelks. Scallops. Hot Smoked Salmon. All fresh, all cooked very simply. Delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must If You Like Fish & Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

As mentioned by another reviewer, the Seafood Hut is excellently located on the seafront at Oban, right next to the station and the Calmac Ferry Terminal.
And as mentioned by another reviewer, not fine dining, but I personally simply can't imagine anything finer than this.
The food is mouthwateringly fresh and it really is a case of the agony of choice. The lassies there were preparing some salmon and aksed us if we would like a taste, which we accepted. It was so good that my daughter decided to have some salmon as well as fresh prawns. I had a crab sandwich, which was by far the best crab I have eaten in many, many years. The food on display looked so delicious that I had to go back and have some prawns as well - also delicious.
It is a simple place, with a couple of benches and long tables, but this and the food bring people together.
While we were there, a couple had one of the platters of a selection of seafood, and it looked worthy if not better than anything you would find in a high class restaurants.
Excellent value for money and it cannot be rated highly enough - I wish I lived in Oban!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited Easter Sunday, beautifully warm and sunny day. Busy, busy little place. Long queue and spoiled for choice but opted for a prawn sandwich and crab sandwich (both packed full and mega-delicious). Samples of the marinated mussels were being given out (wonderful and full of flavour). Seafood platters were proving very popular. It's not a fancy place but everything is freshly prepared all day so would recommend anyone who visits Oban to get to the Calmac ferry terminal, visit this wonderful little stall and enjoy some of the best seafood ever (we come from a fishing town so take our word for it). Quick service, friendly staff, fantastic value for money and so, so tasty. Wish we lived a lot nearer or that the stall could expand across the border!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5DoreenR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oban Seafood Hut also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Seafood Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing