We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Seafood Hut

Oban Seafood Hut
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had heard great things about the Seafood Hut on the North Pier in Oban and we were not disappointed. It is unpretentious, but fresh and delicious. We had local mussels in white wine and sauteed scallops that were heavenly. Wish I could have sampled everything on the menu - it all looked wonderful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rfa803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    131
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Prawn Sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I went to this dock side seafood hut in search of their famous "prawn sandwich" because of the reviews on TripAdvisor.

While standing in line waiting to order, one of the staff was giving out samples of their steamed mussels. It was outstanding!

So I debated, should I get the prawn sandwich, or go with an order of mussels since they were the same price? Since reviewers raved about the sandwich, I ordered it. The counter girl pointed to a line of sandwiches sitting on top the counter and said pick one.

I ate it at the stand up bench next to the hut. Sorry -- but I don't get it -- I must be missing something. It was a bunch of tiny shrimp mixed in mayo on standard bread -- nothing more. Shrimp without seasoning has very little taste. I didn't see anything to rave about.

I should have gone with the mussels, or something else freshly steamed from them. I'll bet that would be good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I felt like a fish predator
Lobster crab salmon or own absolutely delicious but you might end eating in the rain because it is not a proper restaurant but a kiosk.
If you are in town you can't miss it
I would like to eat that kind of food every day!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valeiorio88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped by the pier en route for some fish & chips for lunch and quickly changed out minds when we got a free taste of their hot smoked salmon - bought sandwiches of that, crab and prawn; all of which were well stuffed full and really tasty! If we're ever in Oban again we'll be back for more of their delicious food!

Helpful?
Thank mellamoalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fab - just book the weather in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Both my wife and I have visited Oban many times over the years - neither of us have ever seen it in the sunshine before!

So this visit was even more enlivened by a visit to the CalMac pier for a light seafood lunch - fresh crab sandwich / fresh prawn and sweet herrings. A tasty family lunch for £12.50....and so fresh. Wanted to try the mussels as well, not to mention the platter...it all looks so good!

Will be back next time the sun is out - maybe in 2025?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank seeitonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oban Seafood Hut also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Seafood Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing