We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not much else going for it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #79 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location but not much else going for it”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Guest house is convenient for the town and ferry, and offers a discount if you need to catch an early ferry (i.e. leaving before breakfast) but that's about it - the rooms are tiny and the "guest parking" is simply - there's parking on the street nearby and if you're lucky there might be a space!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186411Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Manager at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear Sir,
sorry you feel that way,you should have said.
I think it is fair to say you did not see the other rooms in the house and yes the room you where in is my double smallest room.i have 5 letting rooms in the house my other double and my twin are good sized rooms for a B&B and my family room is a very spacious room.
that particular room is used more for my one nighters as it is a smaller room but it still has an en-suite tea/making facilities and a tv. As for parking we don't advertise we have parking and are guests are aware of that. we are beside two big car parks pay and display 9am-6pm and FREE 6PM-9AM. there is also on street parking although limited directly opposite the B&B although very popular so limited.i have taken your comment on board thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

i found this a lovely friendly place,great location right off the promenade.spotlessley clean.nice breakfast,friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The matress was lumpy with bed springs and needs thrown out and replaced. We got a poor nights sleep and mild back ache. (We only tried one room so other beds may not have been as bad.)

Loud music could also be heard from a pub near the rear of the house until 1am (Saturday night).

However, the location was good, the place was clean and tidy, the owners were friendly and the cooked breakfast was ok (although the coffee was undrinkable).

We planned to stay for 2 nights, but we left after one night to stay in another B&B. We were not asked why or how our stay had been, so we did not complain. We have stayed in many B&Bs in the past but have never left early before.

Room Tip: Try the bed for comfort immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Glasgow_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear sir,
i am very sorry you feel this way about our house, we try our very hardest to make sure people are having a pleasant stay in our home sadly you didnt have a very good experience. I can only say sorry and that your complaints have been taken on board however i feel that with my calm friendly nature you could have brought up any complaints with me on the day and i would have been happy to apologise and resolve any problems. i feel my guests views and opinions are important to me in succeeding in my new venture and would have been happy to resolve the problem.
the loud music was under no control of mine unfortunetly every so often the gathering hall do have weddings and other occasions on and is out of anyones control as they hold a licence to open till 1.
once again sorry you didnt enjoy your stay and from reading this review have looked into all your complaints take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#77 of 93 in Oban
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#49 of 93 in Oban
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alderlea Guesthouse
Alderlea Guesthouse
#81 of 93 in Oban
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#83 of 93 in Oban
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 2 Victoria Place | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcoming friendly home situated in the heart of the town centre, we welcome families with children of all ages and Pets. We also offer a hearty breakfast and dinners at great affordable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing