We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #78 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Torlundy which is part of this group. The staff were very welcoming which created a nice atmosphere. Our room was nice and cozy and big enough for a short stay. It is about a 3 min walk from shops, bars and restaurants. 5 mins from the train station and ferry so great for Island visits. The cinema is just at the bottom of the street too. Breakfast was nice. You could help yourself to cereal and yoghurt or order toads and a cooked breakfast. I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ytsrik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

In first place I have to apologise for having to write this review but the place wasen't good enough. The room was a good size with en-suite toilet but the bed had a very old, dirty and unconfortable mattress which made me to have a awful night which I won't forget. Thank you God I stayed there only for one night.

Room Tip: Upstairs double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
I don't remember you staying at my guest house, i hope you have the right house.
And if it was i'm sorry you did'nt enjoy your stay, not everyone can be pleased.
If you did stay it was not a pre-booking because i would have your details on computer.
so in that case someone would have shown you the room and you accepted it. i personally would not stay if it was not good enough. so once again thanks for your opinion and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I've just spent four excellent nights witnessing true Scottish hospitality at its finest. Maggie, Justin and all the staff make you feel most welcome with genuine open kindness and go out of their way to make sure your stay is fun and problem free. No qualms at all with the rooms ; immaculately bedded with cable TV provided along with tea/coffee making facilities. The beds are large and comfortable - perfect to rest your tired bones after a day of trekking or night of socializing. The large cooked breakfast is the ideal way to start a day of fun-filled leisure activities. The B&B is very close to the train station or ferry terminal so making it a very convenient base if you would like to explore the islands. You will come as a guest and leave as a friend with great memories of a most beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
dear sir,
thankyou first of all for your lovely review and i am glad you had a great experience at our house.
we try our very best to make sure we succeed in giving all of our guest a memorable stay and im really glad in your case we have got it right. we are also glad you enjoyed oban and sorrounding areas including our islands. we are so lucky to live in a picture perfect place and are glad guests like yourself who have buisy city lifestyles can enjoy and unwind.
justin and i would like to thank you for choosing our guesthouse and hopefully see you again in the near future. andy and calvin also say a big hello! hope you have recovered fron ben cruchan!!! all the best maggie and justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our double room was small; just enough room for the bed and a chair, but the bed was comfortable enough. The sliding door to the bathroom got stuck a couple of times. We also had a family room, which was a lot more spacious, with a cot for our youngest family member. We only stayed one night as we were off on the early morning departure to Tiree, so unfortunately I can’t say anything about the breakfast. We paid £60 for the double room and £90 for the family room, I’m unsure if we paid less due to the fact that we didn’t have breakfast. I would also like to mention the nice correspondence I had with Margaret, which I thought was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petunia2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
hi how are you all? hope you had a great time in tiree with all the lovely sandy beaches and thw sunshine! the door to bathroom got sorted! was needding a little ajustment,thanks for making me aware. im glad you enjoyed your short stay and was glad to meet you all. hope to see you all in the future. Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have stayed in some dodgy guest houses in my time but this one takes the prize as the worst. We booked to stay with Glendale guest house after looking it up on the internet but upon arriving we were put in " Torlundy " which is at the end of the same road. This accommodation is quite awful as it looks as though it has not been touched for 20 or 30 years with outdated wardrobes, fittings , bathroom etc and a headboard that consisted of a sheet of chipboard that was screwed to the wall. On the night whilst we were trying to get to sleep we were woken by a barking dog coming home to his kennel...sorry room. I forgot to say that they accept dogs here. The whole place is noisy and uncomfortable and we opted not to stay another night after initially booking for an extended weekend. Look at the pictures to make up your own mind . Thankfully we did get alternative accommodation that was a world better for less money.

Room Tip: Do not agree to stay somewhere that you have not viewed beforehand as this is what we did out of des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
To this my responce is if you believe all this then you must be gollable as they knew first of all we are 3 houses and where told over the phone that they where staying at turlundy.the room is not old fasioned at all. as the room looks even better than advertised due to being freshly decorated,wall papered and new bedding as pictures on web site are from when privious owners.the room is £30 per person per night and is a standard size room with en-suite shower room,towels,hair dryer tea/coffee making facilities all provided with a flat screen t.v.(freeview).
readers may i add check my website and you will see clearly noted on the website that i take pets and i am family friendly. one of my other guest happen to arrive at 11 at night as they travelled from england with there dog. they came down in the morning said" they where not happy" and "i said that i was really sorry they felt that way and that the guesthouse was not to there standard" to be honest with you the room was filled that day buy another couple who stayed for 5 nights and where delighted with the room.
alderlea,turludy and glendale all do our up most to please our guests and in most cases we do but unfortunetly in this ocasion you werent and we are once again sorry you didnt enjoy your stay. all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Came up for a flying visit from London and was immediately impressed by the warm and friendly nature of the owners - nothing seemed too much trouble The rooms were clean and tidy with TV + Sat and the breakfast nice and hearty - set me up for the rest of day. The location is only about 10 mins walk from the station, so quite central, but the coup de grace is the competitive tariff which provides fantastic value. I'm trying at this very moment to arrange a longer visit during the summer months.
Thanks Margaret & Justin.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Hello and how are you? Hope the journey home was not too much.
We still have the fantastic weather so all is good.
Justin ad I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again shortly and hope that we can offer you another pleasant stay. Takecare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay in this guest house...! The owners were really friendly and very helpful...! We have a 21 month old wee girl and needed a travel cot for the night which the owners provided..therefore less hassle having to take 1 with us..thank you for that. Room was just a standard double room, very clean and comfy to stay in!

Very welcolming hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The breakfast was good aswell.

Thank you Margaret and Justin.... and oh yeah "mon the hoops"..bet ur glad u went to the game today Justin

Lynn and David McDowell xx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
hi lynn and david hope chloe is better! i am glad you enjoyed your stay ,hope to see you again soon. he managed the game lol!!! takecare and say hello to all.



from Margaret & Justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#51 of 93 in Oban
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#76 of 93 in Oban
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#82 of 93 in Oban
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 2 Victoria Place | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcoming friendly home situated in the heart of the town centre, we welcome families with children of all ages and Pets. We also offer a hearty breakfast and dinners at great affordable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing