We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #84 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very convenient location with oyster a short walk to the town. Met by a friendly lady who showed us to our room and was very helpful. Had a very disturbed night with a lot of shouting gin the street but that can't be blamed on the owners and it may have been a one off.
We go for good value when we go away on the motorbike (prefer 2 cheap weekends away than 1 pricey one) and just want something clean and comfortable and a warm shower. It met all these in the evening but there was no hot water in the morning which was a bit disappointing.
Overall, clean, convenient and friendly and if you want the Ritz then expect to pay more

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have never thought about having to write one of these reviews but I feel that I must as a warning to others, this has to be the worst place i have ever stayed in
On arrival we went to the B&B but there was a sign on the door saying to go to another B&B as for all enquiries this was never comunicated in email, we could have spend hours looking for this but luckly we found someone to ask, once we had located it and checked in we found the the room was very shabby but because it was only for a few nights and more of a bed than anything we thought it was fine, however a few things stood out, the head board was nailed on, there was damp in the bathroom, the bathroom floor was dirty, they have a light on either side of the bed but only one plug, but worst was yet to come, the bed linen was shocking the pillow case had marks all over it (was told it was washing powder by Margeret the owner) and the bed sheet had blood stains all over it i have never been so shocked by anything i was Paying £50 a night for.
once i complained they were changed straight away, to little to late i "slept" in my jogging bottoms and a jumper.
To make up for this we were given a box of chocolates and a note saying saying sorry but never an alternative
DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Oban has 100s of B&B's available dont take what you first see, shop around read reviews whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review,

I think if we refer back to initial e-mail when booking accommodation we stated you where not staying in Glendale as you wanted breakfast.
you booked a double en-suite and a double single occupancy with a shared shower room.
we only have en-suites in Glendale.

as for the sheets it certainly wasn't blood but it was obviously the sheets still had washing powder that had dried in and yes I personally changed it and apologised repeatedly.

as for the chocolates it was an apology and as for the rest you are very angry so doesn't matter what the room looked like you would fault it which I can understand.

once again we apologise and we take your comment on bored and have spoken to house keeping to make sure they pay more attention when doing there daily housekeeping. I Have also started to go round the rooms checking them as they finish.
we are sorry and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Torlundy which is part of this group. The staff were very welcoming which created a nice atmosphere. Our room was nice and cozy and big enough for a short stay. It is about a 3 min walk from shops, bars and restaurants. 5 mins from the train station and ferry so great for Island visits. The cinema is just at the bottom of the street too. Breakfast was nice. You could help yourself to cereal and yoghurt or order toads and a cooked breakfast. I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ytsrik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

In first place I have to apologise for having to write this review but the place wasen't good enough. The room was a good size with en-suite toilet but the bed had a very old, dirty and unconfortable mattress which made me to have a awful night which I won't forget. Thank you God I stayed there only for one night.

Room Tip: Upstairs double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
I don't remember you staying at my guest house, i hope you have the right house.
And if it was i'm sorry you did'nt enjoy your stay, not everyone can be pleased.
If you did stay it was not a pre-booking because i would have your details on computer.
so in that case someone would have shown you the room and you accepted it. i personally would not stay if it was not good enough. so once again thanks for your opinion and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I've just spent four excellent nights witnessing true Scottish hospitality at its finest. Maggie, Justin and all the staff make you feel most welcome with genuine open kindness and go out of their way to make sure your stay is fun and problem free. No qualms at all with the rooms ; immaculately bedded with cable TV provided along with tea/coffee making facilities. The beds are large and comfortable - perfect to rest your tired bones after a day of trekking or night of socializing. The large cooked breakfast is the ideal way to start a day of fun-filled leisure activities. The B&B is very close to the train station or ferry terminal so making it a very convenient base if you would like to explore the islands. You will come as a guest and leave as a friend with great memories of a most beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
dear sir,
thankyou first of all for your lovely review and i am glad you had a great experience at our house.
we try our very best to make sure we succeed in giving all of our guest a memorable stay and im really glad in your case we have got it right. we are also glad you enjoyed oban and sorrounding areas including our islands. we are so lucky to live in a picture perfect place and are glad guests like yourself who have buisy city lifestyles can enjoy and unwind.
justin and i would like to thank you for choosing our guesthouse and hopefully see you again in the near future. andy and calvin also say a big hello! hope you have recovered fron ben cruchan!!! all the best maggie and justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our double room was small; just enough room for the bed and a chair, but the bed was comfortable enough. The sliding door to the bathroom got stuck a couple of times. We also had a family room, which was a lot more spacious, with a cot for our youngest family member. We only stayed one night as we were off on the early morning departure to Tiree, so unfortunately I can’t say anything about the breakfast. We paid £60 for the double room and £90 for the family room, I’m unsure if we paid less due to the fact that we didn’t have breakfast. I would also like to mention the nice correspondence I had with Margaret, which I thought was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petunia2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
hi how are you all? hope you had a great time in tiree with all the lovely sandy beaches and thw sunshine! the door to bathroom got sorted! was needding a little ajustment,thanks for making me aware. im glad you enjoyed your short stay and was glad to meet you all. hope to see you all in the future. Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I have stayed in some dodgy guest houses in my time but this one takes the prize as the worst. We booked to stay with Glendale guest house after looking it up on the internet but upon arriving we were put in " Torlundy " which is at the end of the same road. This accommodation is quite awful as it looks as though it has not been touched for 20 or 30 years with outdated wardrobes, fittings , bathroom etc and a headboard that consisted of a sheet of chipboard that was screwed to the wall. On the night whilst we were trying to get to sleep we were woken by a barking dog coming home to his kennel...sorry room. I forgot to say that they accept dogs here. The whole place is noisy and uncomfortable and we opted not to stay another night after initially booking for an extended weekend. Look at the pictures to make up your own mind . Thankfully we did get alternative accommodation that was a world better for less money.

Room Tip: Do not agree to stay somewhere that you have not viewed beforehand as this is what we did out of des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
To this my responce is if you believe all this then you must be gollable as they knew first of all we are 3 houses and where told over the phone that they where staying at turlundy.the room is not old fasioned at all. as the room looks even better than advertised due to being freshly decorated,wall papered and new bedding as pictures on web site are from when privious owners.the room is £30 per person per night and is a standard size room with en-suite shower room,towels,hair dryer tea/coffee making facilities all provided with a flat screen t.v.(freeview).
readers may i add check my website and you will see clearly noted on the website that i take pets and i am family friendly. one of my other guest happen to arrive at 11 at night as they travelled from england with there dog. they came down in the morning said" they where not happy" and "i said that i was really sorry they felt that way and that the guesthouse was not to there standard" to be honest with you the room was filled that day buy another couple who stayed for 5 nights and where delighted with the room.
alderlea,turludy and glendale all do our up most to please our guests and in most cases we do but unfortunetly in this ocasion you werent and we are once again sorry you didnt enjoy your stay. all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#88 of 99 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayres Guest House
Ayres Guest House
#50 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#83 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 2 Victoria Place | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcoming friendly home situated in the heart of the town centre, we welcome families with children of all ages and Pets. We also offer a hearty breakfast and dinners at great affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing