We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Base From Which To Explore Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #25 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were taking the ferry to Barra the following day and wanted somewhere for an overnight stop in Oban. This B&B fitted the bill and being a short walk into town meant it was in an ideal location. The return walk is up quite a steep hill but is no problem when you are fit and healthy like us.
Caroline was not the owner when we booked it but since she took over she appears to have hit the ground running and is doing an excellent job in what must be a very steep learning curve.
The room was spotless and the breakfast was one of the best we had our tour of the islands.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

A lovely couple to meet . Glad to have made your trip to Oban enjoyable. Hope the rest of your holiday went well. Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Don Muir Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our sole night here at Don Muir. The hostess was friendly, but not overbearing. She was also very accommodating when we asked if we could have breakfast at 6:15 AM so that we could catch the ferry at 7:30 AM for our trip to Mull then Iona/Staffa.

The rooms are spacious and well-kept. The location is also very attractive being near the top of Pulpit Hill but also within a 15 minute walk of the town centre.

At £70 per night, it also offers decent value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Don Muir for a short trip (3 days) in Oban. The Guest House itself was very well looked after and immaculate throughout. Our room was beautiful with all the little necessities you need and even included shampoo, conditioner and shower gel (which we had forgot to bring with us) in the en-suite bathroom. Our hostess Caroline, who has just recently taken over the business, was a wonderful host and if she had not told us we would have thought she had been running the guest house for years! Her service was excellent; providing us with a pot of tea or coffee and biscuits upon our arrival, which we really enjoyed as we had just got off the train after a 9 hour journey from Yorkshire. We also loved that she gave us a choice of a continental or cooked breakfast and the food provided was plentiful and thoroughly enjoyable! The location of the Guest House is great! It's just a short pleasent walk from the town center and 2 minutes walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint where the views are amazing! Don Muir is an excellent Guest House, it's great value for money and I would advise anyone travelling to Oban to stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuiceBox_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this guest house for 3 nights and it was perfect. From Dana our hostess the spotless rooms and fresh towels every day, the lovely breakfasts, beautiful views from the top of the pulpit hill to the handiness of It's location to the harbour for Island trips it was all perfect even the weather. Thanks for everything Dana.
David & Karen
Glasgow.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVET88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I was met by a very helpful hostess, who gave me a local map and some very good advice. The house is quite high up pulpit hill and a very pleasant walk down to the town.It is a short walk to the viewpoint at the top. My room was a smallish double which was very well equipped and very clean. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Neighborhood location within walking distance of downtown and ferry. Can leave car at house and walk to hikes and island ferry trips. Couple has good knowledge of local hiking trails.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This good B&B is located in a very quiet place. We found a very homely large room with a decent bathroom, very good furniture and a willing owner with a sociable cat (if you don’t like cats no problem, the owner never let him enter in the guest area). They will give you useful suggestion for pubs and restaurant in the town. The problem is the position relatively to the town: it is on Pulpit Hill, to the other side from the town and the harbor, so it takes more than 10 minutes walking to reach the ferry harbor and about 20 minutes to reach the center. But returning to the B&B is a Himalaya climbing, 30 minutes for a person used to walk. There are other B&B which are closer to the shore and the town center, but you have to consider that the principal streets in Oban are little noisy also in the evening, and in the harbor a ferry stay all night long with its motor rumbling waiting for sailing in the morning with tens of car and buses.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#49 of 94 in Oban
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.8 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.7 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing