We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #25 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Hospitable”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for four nights, just what you would expect from a good standard family run B&B. Very clean ample breakfast and very hospitable hosts.
We had an early start one morning and we were provided with some warm bagels and pancakes for breakfast to take with us.
Great B&B if you are in Oban

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the review. If you are ever in Oban again you know where we are , we would love to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    31
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
63
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

had an excellent stay here , they were very friendly and welcoming, the room was very comfy and warm, the food was excellent we would highly recommend this , short walk into oban. will definetally stay again , regards stuart & linda cawthorn ( nottiongham)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stucawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you Stuart and Linda for the positive review. Very glad to have met you and will look forward to meeting you again as it's always nice to meet up with returning guests . Many thanks Caroline and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Don Muir and were very pleased we the cleanliness and homeliness of this b&b. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, Darren was always keen to ensure we had everything we needed at breakfast and made us feel very welcome. The house is a short elk into oban (the hill looks worse than it is!). Taxis are easy and cheap if you don't feel up to the uphill walk! The house is also very close to the ferry port (max 15 minute walk), with ferries departing regularly to Mull. We'd stay again and would recommend Don Muir to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_Rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back and stay next time you are up here. Thank you for the review. Kind regards Caroline and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Welcoming atmosphere from Caroline. Room clean and had been redecorated. Caroline very accommodating and an excellent choice of breakfast provided. All facilities provided in room. Fair price. Parking a little difficult but other space also available. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you Brian for the positive response , glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again just ring and hopefully we can accommodate you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The owners were just to nice, me and my wife stayed for one night with the dog. On Friday 1 Nov 2013. They were so welcoming. The room was perfect, it was so comfy, we are already planning a trip in Feb 2014 again. Looking forward to seeing you again

Room Tip: Any room the on suite we had was perfect
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bruce234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.Nice clean room if a little small.Friendly welcome and nothing too much trouble.Set on a fairly steep hill and a car is a necessity if mobility not 100%.Parking could be tight and access into road not great.Other than that it ideal for a base to explore this part of Argyll.Breakfast food good and plentiful cheerfully served. (Could do with sweeteners for diabetic guests). Really no complaints whatsoever for the price paid.Will use again in the future.
Alan B

Room Tip: A car is really essential for access into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night and arrived to a wonderful sunset. Good location. Good room and unexpectedly good for the price. Very pleasant and parked on the drive. Very nice english full fat breakfast. If I'm visiting again I will be booking up again++

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again in the future. By the way the photo you attached was excellent just another added bonus to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
5.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#31 of 93 in Oban
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.8 mi away
Elderslie Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Property: Don Muir Guest House
Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing