We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay again without hesitation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #24 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for three nights in June 14 - had a lovely time and, to cut to the chase, wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Don Muir again. It's a well run establishment, clean, friendly, quiet and in a pleasant neighbourhood that provided everything we needed from a B&B.

Highlights for us were (room 5) a super comfortable bed, a large enough room not to be cramped for space, a good quality television, delicious quality breakfasts with plenty of choice and three minutes round the corner one of the best views in all of Oban from the park on the summit of Pulpit Hill. A fabulous panorama of the town, harbour and islands all the way to Mull. We never tired of this.

We're moderately active so found the pleasant ten minute walk into the very centre of town to be no problem at all and helped make up for all the calories gained with the delicious food options available in Oban. Being away from the middle of the town makes the whole area more relaxing. That said I can imagine that for cyclists pedaling a fully laden touring bike up the hill would be a challenge at the end of a long day.

Even if the Don Muir's own driveway were full there is always ample free parking just around the corner. One can understand that with a full house of guests combined with the tendancy for cars to become larger and larger on site parking might become a little tight at times. It's an advantage of the Don Muir that it's not cheek by jowl with half a dozen other B&B's as in some other parts of town the influx of cars each evening was obviously making parking a bit fraught.

Having some ice cold water left in our room after one particularly warm day was a really nice & thoughtful touch.

So yes, we'd be more than happy to stay again, there's loads to do and see in the area, and if all B&B's were this well run the world would be a better place. Next time I hope we can stay for longer.

David & Catherine

David & Catherine

Room Tip: Room five suited us well. A sunny room with nice big windows. On the road and slightly overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Partner and I stayed here for a night before catching the ferry to Mull the following morning.
Caroline and Darren provide a genuine warm welcome, but they allow guests plenty of space to do their own thing which is great.
The double room was extremely clean, nicely decorated and had a great en-suite shower room. There were lots of little extras such as a hospitality tray, toiletries in the bathroom and an information pack.
Breakfast was excellent - yogurts, juices, cereals and a great cooked breakfast - with lots of choice and local ingredients like potato scones and Lorne sausage - as well as veggie options. Breakfast is served in a really pleasant breakfast room with views over the garden and beyond to the woods.
We slept really well, our room was at the front of the house, but there was no traffic noise whatsoever.
The house is situated very close to Pulpit Hill in Oban, which is a local view point with exceptional views over to the Inner Hebrides. Walking from central Oban uphill takes around 15 minutes - but a very scenic walk. Walking down to Oban is around 10 minutes - using what must be one of the most lovely short-cuts in Scotland via Pulpit Hill.
For those who are not so able to walk or who prefer not to, a taxi from the town-centre costs only £3.30, so for a couple it definitely won't break the bank. We would recommend taking a taxi from the station if you arrive in Oban by train, as you may have luggage and the taxi drive will help to orientate you.
All in all, a great stay - Caroline and Darren are excellent hosts and they provide an excellent product!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moraymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

What a lovely review about us and how you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to please everyone but not everyone is easy to please. Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we look forward to a return visit from you again. Thank you for enjoying our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for four nights, just what you would expect from a good standard family run B&B. Very clean ample breakfast and very hospitable hosts.
We had an early start one morning and we were provided with some warm bagels and pancakes for breakfast to take with us.
Great B&B if you are in Oban

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the review. If you are ever in Oban again you know where we are , we would love to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

had an excellent stay here , they were very friendly and welcoming, the room was very comfy and warm, the food was excellent we would highly recommend this , short walk into oban. will definetally stay again , regards stuart & linda cawthorn ( nottiongham)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stucawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you Stuart and Linda for the positive review. Very glad to have met you and will look forward to meeting you again as it's always nice to meet up with returning guests . Many thanks Caroline and Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Don Muir and were very pleased we the cleanliness and homeliness of this b&b. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, Darren was always keen to ensure we had everything we needed at breakfast and made us feel very welcome. The house is a short elk into oban (the hill looks worse than it is!). Taxis are easy and cheap if you don't feel up to the uphill walk! The house is also very close to the ferry port (max 15 minute walk), with ferries departing regularly to Mull. We'd stay again and would recommend Don Muir to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola_Rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back and stay next time you are up here. Thank you for the review. Kind regards Caroline and Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Welcoming atmosphere from Caroline. Room clean and had been redecorated. Caroline very accommodating and an excellent choice of breakfast provided. All facilities provided in room. Fair price. Parking a little difficult but other space also available. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you Brian for the positive response , glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again just ring and hopefully we can accommodate you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The owners were just to nice, me and my wife stayed for one night with the dog. On Friday 1 Nov 2013. They were so welcoming. The room was perfect, it was so comfy, we are already planning a trip in Feb 2014 again. Looking forward to seeing you again

Room Tip: Any room the on suite we had was perfect
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bruce234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.8 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.8 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
516 reviews
1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing