We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Views, Breakfast!”
Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #8 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location, Views, Breakfast!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

First visit to Oban, found a great lodging choice. We liked the B&B for many reasons, particularly the friendly staff and location. It was a 5 minute walk to restaurants and 7 minutes to ferry terminal. Walking away from town, a fortified castle and walking trail. Upstairs room #5 has the bay views but claw foot tub water runs very slow. The room faces south overlooking the harbor. It's fun to watch the ferry activity. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. If you like hot porridge, order the oatmeal as it is fabulous. Delicious poached eggs too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissIvNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    99
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
81
319
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I went to Oban for the first time and the Kilchrenan House was amazing. It's right on the water, walking distance to the old clansman castle and museum, and downtown Oban. The breakfast was great - the hot breakfast options are to die for and there's always a continental buffet as well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a great week at Oban staying once again at the Wonderful Kilchrenan Hotel. We cannot thank Colin and Frances enough for the warm welcome we received once again (our third visit) The hotel is spotlessly clean and the varied breakfast sets you up for the day. Also a special thanks to Catherine who looked after us at breakfast and makes it home from home. The free tot of Whisky went down a treat after a day out. We would recommend the Kilchrenan to anyone who is considering spending time in Oban.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevlin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A very welcoming and comfortable small hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre. Rooms well equipped and very clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 4, at the front of the building with superb views down the Sound of Kerrera. The only negative I could see is that there is no public lounge - which might be a problem on long rainy holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have superb views. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swandodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D&G
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Don't know where to start...from the moment we walked through the door...to the end of our three night stay, we were made so welcoming into this stunning Guest House. We stayed in room 12 which had a super view from the side of the building overlooking the water.. lovely start to the day watching the boats coming and going from Oban. Breakfast was first class...highly recommend the pancakes.. All staff serving breakfast were so nice and looked after us very very well. Colin and Frances are fantastic hosts and must admit I didn't want to leave on my last day. Roll on next year...Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and have never had a bad experience. Colin & Frances are terrific hosts and help with tour and restaurant recommendations, Welcome drink is also a nice touch and breakfast can be as much or as little as you like with smiling,helpful staff on hand for more coffee etc.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms are 1, 15 and 5 with the first 2 on the ground floor. These are our recommendat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Kilchrenan House is just a short distance from the Oban city center. Many people walk into town, I preferred the taxi. It was about a $5 ride to anyplace in Oban. My room did not have a sea view although it was a decent view out through the trees on the back side of the House. The rate was excellent and the service friendly and efficient.

The breakfasts at Kilchrenan House were very good with a lot of options. They ranged from the full Scottish breakfast to toast and eggs (boiled or poached.) Coffee and tea were served along with a variety of juices and milk.

There are many B'n'B options in and around Oban but I found my stay at the Kilchrenan House (five nights) was very pleasant. When I left early on the last day, Colin fixed me a takeaway lunch for the train back to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Property: Kilchrenan House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing