We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kilchrenan House”
Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #11 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a lovely time here from the moment we checked in until we checked out two days later. Colin and Frances were excellent hosts...helpful and accommodating. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The sunset views were fantastic. The parking of convenient and it was an easy walking into town, even for my husband who was recovering from knee surgery. The stairs to our room were a bit of a challenge due to the knee problem, but Colin was helpful with our bags. The scotch and cream with the morning's porridge was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Francis & Colin offer the very best of Highland Hospitality. We were given a very warm welcome by Colin, our room (12) was spotless with a view over the bay and there was even a welcoming wee whisky ! And Francis was a wonderful hostess at breakfast - so warm and friendly (and the breakfast was great too !). We definitely recommend Kilchrenan House and certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the bay if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaldEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose this hotel for a much needed break. Arrived well before check in time but it was ok to park up and do our own thing in Oban until time to check in. Very warm welcome from Frances who offered complimentary and very welcome whisky or sherry. She also explained that they kept a file of menus from the various eating places, which we browsed while sipping the whisky.

The room was in the new extension and was lovely. Clean and had all you would want from a B&B. Lovely to just relax on the bed and watch the view of ferries and small boats coming and going. Soothed my soul anyway. Somebody complained in a previous review about noise from adjoining rooms and yes, that could be a problem depending on your neighbours.

My only little niggle was with the bathroom. Please put up some kind of wee shelf to put the shampoo and shower gel on. This, by the way, the high quality shampoo and shower gel supplied by Colin and Frances.

Frances and Colin like you to order your breakfast the previous night and specify the time you want it. I wasn't much keen on that because how do you know what you fancy till you wake up? And how do you know when you'll wake up? However, it all seemed to work out ok, and I understand why they do that. My partner said his poached eggs were "perfection". Can't get much better than that from a Victor Meldrew wannabe!

You might look at the location and think it's quite a walk from the hub of Oban but don't be put off. I have walking problems, but didn't have any problem with the distances involved. Take it easy, don't rush, you're on holiday!!!

Just want to explain that I didn't give them 5 stars because, after all, nobody's perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was nice, but I suspect any other room in this place would be just as nice, if not better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were greeted by the owner, very helpful and explained all we needed to know. Room was clean and nicely decorated. We needed to know where to eat in Oban, the owners both suggested and also rang to book a table for us at our chosen restaurant. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very good. We stayed there again later in our trip. Very good.

Room Tip: If staying a few nights, try for a room on the front for the views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful guest house in a great location on the Esplanade in Oban. Warm and friendly innkeepers. Colin welcomed us, showed us to our room, offered a complimentary sherry or whisky and offered advice on the best places to dine. We met Francis the next morning at breakfast and she served and supervised the breakfast staff. They could not have been nicer or more hospitable. Our room was clean and comfortable. Wonderful full Scotish Breakfast (my wife still talks about the porridge with whisky and cream). We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our daughter and stayed in a family room on the top floor. It was ideal for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfa803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A warm welcome from Frances and Colin for two German girls! There is parking on the property, a complimentary (delicious!) sherry or whisky, room is clean, beds are comfortable. We can certainly recommend the sea view rooms, the sunset was stunning! Breakfast was incredibly delicious: pancakes with greek joghurt and berries! We would definitely come back and also strongly recommend a stay here to anyone who is visiting Oban.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are worth it! Also, ask for a room in bright colors, they are friendlier loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria_chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful views from the bedroom. Such hospitality from both Colin and Frances. They gave advice for where to eat and where we could go walking. Restaurant menus available so you are able to browse before picking a restaurant and such a tasty breakfast with lots of choice to set you up for the day. Being on the ground floor we were woken with other guests going for breakfast, but we do like to sleep late, otherwise very comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RStrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing