We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Guest House”
Review of Cameron Guesthouse

Cameron Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We only stayed the one night en route to Mallaig and were very happy with the facilities. Lets face it if you want a big room with loads of cupboard space and a fancy view stay in a hotel, if you want somewhere to shower and sleep stay here, a great location, a great price, very clean and the owners were very friendly. We would stay again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuscanTony69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Cameron Guest House is in a really great location and a short walk to central Oban.

We had a family room with shared bathroom. The latter raised some issues as it is not clear if the bathroom is occupied or not.

The room was comfortable but small.

Don't get trapped and order an overpriced continental breakfast from the guest house ... we walked five minutes and got a far better breakfast at less than half the price.

As for the landlord .... didn't see him / her during two nights stay ... keys were left behind a door and we left money in an envelope. A little strange!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The guesthouse was well situated, the room clean, the bed comfortable and the owner very friendly. However, the facilities were disappointing, particularly in relation to space. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in room 2. The hanging space consisted of 4 hooks on the wall with 3 coathangers! Drawer storage was 2 slim drawers, one attached to either end of the headboard. As a result, our luggage was not unpacked during our stay. The en-suite bathroom was tiny, with the washhand basin hard against one wall, making the task of washing and shaving somewhat tricky. In addition to the double bed, there was also a single bed in the room, taking up more space (and the only place we could store our luggage). I'm only glad there there were just 2 of us and we weren't staying any longer than 2 nights. Breakfast was not available during our stay, so I am unable to comment on service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The price is really cheap for such a guest house in the centre of Oban. The room is big and beautiful even with a horse painting by Beihong Xu on the wall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived late and found nice message and keys to enter (check in possibility usually in the afternoon). Sleeping and bathroom were absolutely clean and beautiful. Shower facility was the best I ever saw in Britain: It really contained pressure! Located in short walking distance to Oban centre / habour. Next time around we will come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreagolfieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: pas d'ascenseur, donc attention les personnes à mobilité réduite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TatieB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#74 of 94 in Oban
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
491 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dungallan Country House
2.6 mi away
The Wide Mouthed Frog
0.2 mi away
Greencourt Guesthouse
Greencourt Guesthouse
#30 of 94 in Oban
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Guesthouse

Address: Breadalbane Street | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameron Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cameron Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Guesthouse Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing