We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent and delicious fish”
Review of Nories

Nories
Ranked #8 of 95 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Connel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Succulent and delicious fish”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Excellent, succulent fish and melt in the mouth chips. Friendly staff and large generous portions- clean shop with good value for money if you want a hot meal after a day out

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tenboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    156
    32
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

wonderful haddock and chips,real chips might i add. the staff were all locals and were very friendly and chatty. you have a choice to either sit in and eat your food or takeaway with you. there is lovely flower beds just down from the chip shop and across from that there are benches to sit on and look over the bay.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank josie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Greasy and Unpleasant - Quite Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Tried this Fish & Chip shop as a taxi driver recommended the chips. Hardly cooked, the chips were fat, greasy and bland. My traveling companion tried the sausages; greasy and doughy, he thought that perhaps the oil had not been hot enough. We each had a couple of bites before ditching this mess but both of us experienced extreme flatuence afterwards. Avoid. There are other Fish & Chip shops in town. There were some good points, the staff was pleasant and there were benches to sit on outside the shop in the sun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
27 Thank SartreLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!:”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

On a day out in Oban, just passing by , the little cafe looked so clean & inviting, & we weren't dissapointed, the best fish supper ever ( we come from a fishing town) but Norries beats anything tasted at home, value for money, pleasent staff. food served in paper tray,& disposable cutlery, so no chance of poorly washed plates etc.. Wish we'd been able to pay another visit. Looking forward to our hext break in that area,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nories Fish and Chip Shop”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Bought a large haddock and chips and a can of Irn Bru to share between my boyfriend and I and sat on the pier on a bench beside Ee-usk restaurant watching the world go by. Excellent fish and chips. Fantastic location. Go do the same :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b-scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nories also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Nories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing