We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found on a walkabout in Oban”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #42 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Found on a walkabout in Oban”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat on a Friday evening whilst on a walkabout we happened upon the Taj Mahal. Looked inviting and a table was available. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was good and plentiful, freshly cooked, the menu was varied and we enjoyed the evening. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    59
    22
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicest curry I have had in aggges!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was the nicest curry I had had in a good while, there was such an inspiring range of dishes on the menu and reasonable? I wish it was my local, not 200 miles west!
The staff were pleasant, attentive and welcoming. Should I be back in Oban again I would head straight here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curly0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A really good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We always make a point of visiting the Taj when in Oban. Always a good meal, great choice on the menu and a relaxed atmosphere. the food is really good and decent portions, staff always polite and friendly.

Good value and worth trying when you are in Oban.,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Why 41?”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I refer of course to it's tripadvisor rating. Either we were very lucky or some of the past reviewers dont know a lot about taste. When slightly wary I always judge a restaurant by its Tandoori Chicken starter. In this case it was very good and my partner had the fresh pickle tray and popadums. For mains my better half had a tasty Chicken Korma whilst my Lamb Chilli Masala (which I had requested as not on the menu) arrived teeming with fresh green chilli and a large amount of lamb. Superb! The nan was light and delicious, the rice was fluffy and the Cobra was chilled. Reminded me a little of how Curry Houses used to be like. I would love to know where the reviewer eats that calls this place expensive. The bill came to £28 which is considerably less than I would pay at home. If I lived in Oban I would happily eat in here on a regular basis based on the quality of our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food always”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visit here probably once a month when in town for work. Never had a poor meal. Often visit with large groups and service 1st class and food always fresh, doesnt take long to come out and tastes delicious. Peshwari nan bread is one of the best I've ever had, love the Lamb Kashmir curry too. Will return as always.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank thebeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing