We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant.”

The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The DiCiacca family have been running successful restaurants in Oban for 3 generations. Onorio and Elvira first came to Oban from Picinisco, Italy in 1959 to open their first chip shop. The Family's dedication to their customers and delicious recipes with big Italian flavours, have kept the Locals and the Visitors to Oban full and happy for generations. Renato and son Antonio, continue this long line of culinary tradition with the Oban Fish Bar & Restaurant and Nories Fish & Chip shop, which is just a little further along on George Street in Oban. Being in The Seafood Capital of Scotland, The Oban Fish Bar & Restaurant offers a wide choice of Fish and Seafood to tantalise your taste buds, but for the non fish eaters amongst you, enjoy the hand cut chips, try the delicious homemade Italian dishes or give the Gourmet Burgers from the local butcher a go. Maybe you're looking for authentic handmade Stone Baked Italian Pizza's? We've got that covered as well. Renato also likes to keep up with the latest developments which means we now also offer Gluten Free batter so everyone can enjoy the DiCiacca Family's delicious dishes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a small restaurant on the main road of Oban and is a great place to have a meal or snack or just a drink or a coffee, with lovely decor,friendly service and very reasonable prices.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pantelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    169
    76
    49
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious fish & chips!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best fish and chips I've ever had. Really good and fresh haddock and tasty mussels with cheese.
Clean and comfortable place and very helpful staff. I'd repeat the experience again!

Helpful?
Thank McGoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
227 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Comedians”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Called in to get fish and chips but changed our minds when we saw the price - £8.90 - £7.20 for fish and £1.70 for chips, and those were the takeaway prices - eat-in was much more expensive.
We ended up with two pies @ £2.30 each, howerver they were reasonably large and very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gismo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner1962, Manager at The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your pies. However we think you have misread the menu as it is our large fish that costs £8.90 with chips and £7.20 without chips. Our standard, cooked to order, fresh fish of the day with chips is £6 and for sit-in our fish and chips is £7.95, including a drink, peas and bread and butter which we feel is value for money. We do hope you come back one day to give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Chips”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Came here on a sailing trip in July. Absolutely fantastic chips, fantastic service and fantastic prices. Would definitely recommend to a friend and will go back somewhen!

Helpful?
Thank willoughbym98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oban
1 review
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I regularly eat here and was slightly annoyed by the take away review( take away terrible)
As a local i know for a fact that the fish is always and only cooked to order-yes it means you have to wait for it but it is worth it as for the size i get a fish supper and a single sausage(2 very large)
and it is more than enough for me and my 2 kids with the chips split 3 ways
The cost of the supper is £6 so maybe its just me but i think that is not bat
What i would suggest is to stick to mcdonalds if you want very cheep food
Finally the girls are always very friendly so who knows i have not experienced any problem
James-oban

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obanpuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing