We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chish & Fips & Haggis”

The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The DiCiacca family have been running successful restaurants in Oban for 3 generations. Onorio and Elvira first came to Oban from Picinisco, Italy in 1959 to open their first chip shop. The Family's dedication to their customers and delicious recipes with big Italian flavours, have kept the Locals and the Visitors to Oban full and happy for generations. Renato and son Antonio, continue this long line of culinary tradition with the Oban Fish Bar & Restaurant and Nories Fish & Chip shop, which is just a little further along on George Street in Oban. Being in The Seafood Capital of Scotland, The Oban Fish Bar & Restaurant offers a wide choice of Fish and Seafood to tantalise your taste buds, but for the non fish eaters amongst you, enjoy the hand cut chips, try the delicious homemade Italian dishes or give the Gourmet Burgers from the local butcher a go. Maybe you're looking for authentic handmade Stone Baked Italian Pizza's? We've got that covered as well. Renato also likes to keep up with the latest developments which means we now also offer Gluten Free batter so everyone can enjoy the DiCiacca Family's delicious dishes.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Chish & Fips & Haggis”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Looking for a decent fish & chip parlour then look no further than here. Welcoming staff a good selection on the menu including good old haggis, and a decent vegetarian option on the burgers. Value for money, not licensed but hot & cold drinks available. Comfortable surroundings including al fresco dining for the brave.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    194
    83
    57
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although we both love fish this is not the type of "fish restaurant" we would normally visit but for a traditional fish tea it was lovely.
We had the fish tea which included tea, bread and butter. Price was reasonable and certainly plenty to eat. Service was fast and friendly and what a view you have, if you are close to the window.
Did not know that it was a case of BYO until we started to write this review so if we return we will certainly bear that in mind.
To sum up. Not somewhere you would go for a special occasion but when you are at the seaside then fish and chips are a must so go for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, food just ok.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had lemon sole supper, portion on the small side, batter slightly undercooked. Coming from an area that has superb fresh fish, it was always going to be hard to please us, and am afraid to say yes,we were a little bit disappointed. However on the positive side all staff were very friendly and efficient, and one of the best views overlooking bay to have a meal at, with option of outdoor/ indoor seating .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having read the reviews we sought this venue out. The food was well presented and good value but the quality let it dwon. Chips were fine but the fish had not been boned leading to unpleasant side effects from stuck bone in throat. The peas which wer garden rather than the more usual mushy were hard and tasteless. Although we chose pensioners meals half a slice of bread each seemd petty and made the meal look stingy.We may just have been unlucky but we ending up wishing we'd gone elsewhere as some of the rival establishamnts looked really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish was lovely”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

You can't go to Oban and not have a fish supper! The first time we visited we got a take out fish supper but this time we sat inside and had the regular supper which came with tea and bread & butter (because you have to make a chip butty right!?). The fish was perfect. If there was a minor flaw it was my daughters scallops which were deep fried and a little bit gritty which she obviously found disappointing. If you play safe and go for the fish you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Oban Bay Fish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing