We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting visit”

Oban War & Peace Museum
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chapel en le Frith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This museum is a great place to spend an hour finding out about Oban's history with lots of personal stories of its people and near neighbours. I was very interested in the wartime story and particularly the sinking of the Breda as my husband had just been diving on her and had told my about the many pairs of sandals he'd seen and couldn't understand why they were there. The mystery was solved when I saw one of these sandals in the museum and the story emerged - quiet amusing. I'm not going to tell you though - you'll have to visit and find out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    191
    55
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“small but interesting”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

on oban sea front very small and all about the war ,very interesting,some uniforms and model aircraft /ships,it doesn't have any facilities,and doesn't take long to visit unless you read the wealth of information and old photos ect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scampiknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a lovely little free museum full of interesting little facts about the world wars and the contributions that Oban made. It is very small and has volunteers but I found it a bit intimidating!! I think its great but because it is so small its difficult to concentrate as I felt I was on view all the time. Anyway that said it has some lovely displays and its sad as it only exists because of those people who gave so much. Its near to several hotels and opposite the waterfront. Its the second time I have visited this little gem. Its always worth taking the time to visit this little place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandma648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a must visit”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

called in here for a quick visit, which turned into over an hour on two separate days as it was next to hotel. lots of interesting and varied displays.

Thanks

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank o_Hiho9_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Reminder of sacrifices made”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well thought out museum, concentrating on the role of Oban during the last war. Provides a glimpse of what it was like for those who sacrificed so much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 573robinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oban War & Peace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oban War & Peace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing