We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located Guest House”

Glenview Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenview Guest House
Ranked #48 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

It may be an old fashioned guest house, ie sharing a toilet and shower, but its well placed as its only a short walk into the centre of Oban. Clean comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast. All the doors seem to slam shut so it can be noisy when people return to their rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

My son and I stayed here for 1 night in a twin room with shared facilities. The room was nice and big with very comfy beds. It had a small sink in the corner next to a wardrobe with a mirror above it but because it was in a dark corner the mirror was pretty much useless. The tv was very small, didn't have many channels and the volume was low on it and wouldn't change. The shower and bathroom were at the other end of the corridor from our room which was a bit of a pain as it meant I had to take my son with me every time and lock the door to our room. The toilet roll in the shower also ran out that night which meant I had to go through another set of doors to the next toilet. The beds were very comfy and we both got a great night sleep and the breakfast was also very nice. The owner was lovely and chatty and took an interest in where we had travelled from and where we were going next which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Glenview for 3 nights, picking this B&B from the internet. We were welcomed in a very friendly way by the owner who let us come and go as we pleased. The rooms were comfortable and served our needs, they gave us a very good breakfast every morning, so we felt satisfied with the service and quality of this B&B. Glenview is situated abt. 10-15 minutes walk from Oban centre, but there is a good bus service in case you need this. Only snag is there is no pavement on the left side of Soroba road when you leave the Glenview, so watch out for heavy traffic :-)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Oban was busy when we booked so we chose somewhere a little way from the centre. There is parking but arriving by train, It was 15 minutes walk from the station and harbour. (Best route is to turn right into Gibraltar Street and through Tesco car park rather than following Soroba Road). Glenview is one of a few adjaceent guesthouses. We had a friendly welcome, the room was fine but I had difficulty controlling the small TV. Breakfast was adequate and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

It all depends on what you want from a guest house. I have travelled to Oban for more than three decades and stuck to Morven's place for the last decade as standard port of call and a hassle free stay. You get a nice sleep and warm welcome and you do not not have to buy the place. Admittedly, you could easily find better positions in town, but you may have to pay for them. Oban is not that big a place and walking into town can be easily done. If you know you way, you can drive, but parking can be an issue.
Glenview Guest House - not luxurious, but reasonable, friendly and honest.

Room Tip: Oban can be very busy, but has an abundance of BnBs. With little difference between them and a regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DH5JBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It was alright, but beds screeched, bathroom fan went on forever and was rather small with the washstand in the bedroom, pillows and duvets were not precisely fluffy; however, the whole place was well heated. Breakfast was fine, and welcome was hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeonebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The owners of the Glenview were extremely welcoming and helpful - went out of their way to look after us. We arrived late and with friends who had given us a lift - they were invited in and given tea and biscuits - no charge. My husband was unwell and they offered to allow us to return during the day after we had checked out - turned out not necessary as we got a bus home right away, but it was a kind and welcome offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
2.3 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Guest House

Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenview Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Glenview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing