We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cnocaruan Sea View

Nothing between you & the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck West Coast sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck
West Coast sunsets
Watch the wild life from your easy chair
Patio doors out onto the deck
Comfy leather suite
Fully equipped dining kitchen
New addition; fishing deck right at the water's edge
The resident otter having her breakfast just off the new deck
Perfect for a sundowner!
Super King size bedroom
Twin room can be made up as another king size
Sea View Shower
Entrance Porch with lots of storage
The Falls of Lora in full flow
Ample off street parking available
Another stunning sunset
Surroundings
Watch the canoeists come & play in the Falls
Best views of the Falls
Set amongst amazing scenery
Magnificent Loch Etive
Oban Bay
Colourful Tobermory on the Isle of Mull
Stunning Glencoe is just a 30 minute drive away
Meet the locals
The Hogwart Express
The Hogwart Express
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AliF2807
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can I say that hasn't already been send before.......
The property is set to a very high standard and has everything you would need for a stay there. The views over Loch Etive and the Falls of Lora are just amazing and there is some thing different to look at every day, we were lucky enough to see the otter and lots of other wildlife. Thank you very much George and Gabriella.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for leaving a review after your stay, We're pleased the resident otter put herself on show and that you enjoyed Cnocaruan, Hopefully until next time! Regards Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday destination by far”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our hosts, Gabriella and George could not be more welcoming - whilst completely leaving us to our own devices.
The let is stunningly situated right on top of the Falls of Laura ( a horizontal tidal "waterfall") with great views from the outside decking and fishing deck.
The quality of the finish and furnishings is superb - thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the let, location and our great hosts.
Liked least: Leaving it...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. You sure did get a good show of the falls with it being a high tide! We are really pleased you enjoyed our spot as much as we do. Hopefully 'til next time! Best Wishes Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G
Porto Santo Island, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay there forever”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Took me some time to decide if I should write a positive review. I was afraid that if to many people find out how good it is to stay at Cnocaruan it would become more and more dificult to us to be able to book a reservation there. Ultimately and just because Gabriella and George were such an amazing host I decided to do it. If you are looking for a quiet place, with a wonderful view this is the where you want to go. On the first couple f days we just wanted to stay at the living room, sitting on the couch and enjoy the fabulous views. Plus, the house was immaculately clean, there us plenty of utilities, and when we needed something extra Gabriela allways did her best to provide it for us. One of the best places we have stayed in Soctland so far. Great quality/price relationship.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, cleanliness, owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Dear Lois & family, Thank you very much for writing the review, it was a pleasure having you to stay. All the very best for your plans and we look forward to seeing you again in Connel or over at yours when we visit my folks in Madeira. All the very best to you all.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W
1 review
“Superb location, absolutely stunning property, to watch the falls changing with the tide, magical”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a wonderful Christmas staying at the Cnocuran. The views from the property are stunning and it is worth staying here just to enjoy them. To watch the weather roll in and just as fast roll out was thrilling and if that wasn't enough then observing the Falls of Lora which is literally just outside is even more mesmerising.

The property is immaculate and well thought out both outside and inside. Owners George and Gabriella have gone to a lot of trouble to ensure that our stay was the best it could possibly be and even provided a beautifully decorated Christmas tree. Amongst many the books, dvds and puzzles was a copy of the tide tables so one could plan and enjoy the falls at their best.

The weather wasn't quite predictable enough to have Christmas lunch on the terrace which would have been spectacular; well after all it is Scotland, rain and sunshine alternate. To be fair we didn't care, we loved Oban and the surrounding countryside.

Our last morning was sunny and clear with mist rolling down snow capped mountains. Most magical was to watch the otter having breakfast on the rocks below the bridge.

The biggest test is of course would we like to return? Yes please, can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your nice review, it was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return to Cnocaruan. All the very best for 2016
Gabriella, George & the hounds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsRTynea...
Tyne and Wear
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Takes Your Breath Away !!!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sometimes words are inadequate. But never the less here I go.
Firstly the sight of the magnificent "Connel Bridge" as you approach is awesome.
Then upon reaching our destination "Cnocaruan Sea View" we received a wonderfully warm welcome from Gabriella.
We were shown into the house and we were delighted. The house is even better than we had imagined.
Spacious, and immaculate with every thing you would need to make you feel at home.
Then we were taken onto the outside decking which quite simply "Takes Your Breath Away". We stood and looked at the view and were lost for words !!!.
Gabriella smiled and welcomed our reaction. Telling us that the view changes constantly with the tide, which in turn creates the magnificent "Falls Of Lora".
Then we were shown the lower fishing deck, newly added for 2015.
Wowwwwww !!!
You feel as if you are sailing on the water you are so close.
We saw seals lifting their heads up in the water, but just as Bill got his camera set they would go back down into the water. We laughed a lot about that !

Later, we met George our other host, and just like Gabriella he was welcoming and friendly. He helped us with places to visit such as Crinan, which is a small village on the coastal route. We followed George's advice and we are so glad we did. Our visit to Crinan became one of the highlights of our holiday.

Cnocaruan is just about 10 minutes drive into Oban and approximately 1 hour into Fort William. Really it is perfectly situated for touring nearby.

We must not forget the lovely dogs, Murphy and Pippa. They were your best friends if you would throw their toys for them to fetch.

We were so very sad to leave. But we look forward to our next visit.
Thankyou so much Gabriella, George, Murphy and Pippa.
Our holiday was Fantastic !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Dear Bill & Julie,
It was a pleasure having you to stay. Really pleased that you enjoy the house as much as we do! We look forward to your return visit. Many thanks for your kind review. All the very best.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPG69
Codsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, fantastic views, beautiful home and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the great reviews we were confident that Cnocaruan Sea view would provide a great base to explore this area of the Scottish west coast, and to this end it certainly delivered. The reception from Gabriella and George was warm and welcoming yet not overbearing. The facilities provided within their extended home are superb and as many have mentioned previously, every attention to detail has been afforded and presentation is immaculate. The property is located 10 mins or so drive out of Oban and a bus stop is located a short distance away if required. The property is approached directly from the main road and space for parking is provided. The view from the rear of the property is fantastic and changes throughout the day in rhythm with the weather and the flow of the tidal waters. We were very fortunate to catch a few glimpses of the seals which can been seen swimming in the waters just below the wonderful terrace, which itself is the perfect spot for enjoying the views, wildlife and glass of wine. Overall a fantastic property to spend a week with loved ones exploring a truly beautiful part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Bill & Julie
It was a delight to have you stay, so nice you enjoyed the house & views as much as we do! We look forward to your return!
Many thanks for your glowing review.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ExceIIent”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned Iast week from a weeks stay in Cnocaruan, where to start!!! The cottage is beautifuI and there is nothing that GabrieIIa and George has not thought about, it has everything, the smaII touches such as sweets/wine/tea/coffee/sugar/shower geI/bubbIe bath/hand soap is so thoughtfuI and makes it feeI Iike home. AIso a good seIection of books/games/cd's and dvd's, seriousIy, there is NOTHING missing
The views are spectacuIar and changes aII the time, the patio area and new decking area are fab, unfortunateIy didn't reaIIy get the good of them as weather not so good, but hey ho, nothing we can do about mother nature. Went for a day trip to SeaworId then Fort WiIIiam, aIso went to Cruachan [the hoIIow mountain] which is weII worth a visit. Oban is just 5 miIes away and aIways very busy [whatever the weather]. had a very good meaI at the FaIIs of Iaura and aIso the Oyster Inn which are both a stones throw away from the cottage.
Husband VERY happy with the fishing at North ConneI, and the Priory to the right, caught aII species he was after and vows to go back again.
So wouId just Iike to thank George and GabrieIIa for a wonderfuI week in their beautifuI cottage, wouId definateIy recommend to anyone that wants to visit this beautifuI part of ScotIand

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the speciaI IittIe touches
Liked least: nothing to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Ann thanks so very much for your lovely report. Great to see you all again, hope life is treating you well and hopefully see you & your men on our side of the country again sometime.
Best regards
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing