We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cnocaruan Sea View

Nothing between you & the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck West Coast sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck
West Coast sunsets
Watch the wild life from your easy chair
Patio doors out onto the deck
Comfy leather suite
Fully equipped dining kitchen
New addition; fishing deck right at the water's edge
The resident otter having her breakfast just off the new deck
Perfect for a sundowner!
Super King size bedroom
Twin room can be made up as another king size
Sea View Shower
Entrance Porch with lots of storage
The Falls of Lora in full flow
Ample off street parking available
Another stunning sunset
Surroundings
Watch the canoeists come & play in the Falls
Best views of the Falls
Set amongst amazing scenery
Magnificent Loch Etive
Oban Bay
Colourful Tobermory on the Isle of Mull
Stunning Glencoe is just a 30 minute drive away
Meet the locals
The Hogwart Express
The Hogwart Express
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey W
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic location”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The accommodation was clean, fully equipped for a family of 4 and had the most idyllic location.
We had a wet week but there was plenty around to visit (Glencoe, Inverary jail, isle of Mull, Tobermory, Phoenix cinema, seal island). If we had to stay in the accommodation dud to the rain, it was no problem because we had an extensive choice of DVDs, games, books and of course the stunning views. The weather could not take away the pleasure of appreciating the sea views. In fact the rain and wind simply added to its beauty.
We can't compliment this place enough. What a find! The owners are welcoming and attentive to all your needs. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you so very much for your review. It was a pleasure have you to stay and we look forward to your return with more favourable weather so you can enjoy the outside space to the max. All the very best from us 2.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journey77...
1 review
“outstanding cottage..outstanding view from cottage..outstanding hosts”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

the cottage is what u see on the webpage.. sometimes u see photos on webpages and are disappointed when u get there but not here it certainly reflects reality... outstanding in all aspects..cleanliness is 100% .the view is hypnotic .. we did not have the best of the weather but hey its Scotland and u just have to wear the right clothes... highly recommend this cottage and the lovely hosts George and gabriella are friendly but at the same time just leave u to get on with it... its a true home from home.. thank u once again for lending us part of ur home for a week...jbx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Dear Jean & Jean
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and you certainly managed to pack lots into your week's visit. All the very best to you ladies.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael a
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a lovely, beautifully-located, well-equipped, nicely-appointed cottage. The photos accurately reflect it. The location is ideal for exploring Argyll and the inner Hebrides.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for leaving a review for Cnocaruan
We hope to see you again for your next grand tour of the UK
All the very best from a very sunny Connel
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fridgetra...
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly stunning”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

we loved everything about our stay. The house is comfortable and tasteful on the inside and as for the outside .....a truly stunning location. When we could tear ourselves away from watching the ever changing tides and wildlife and admiring the bridge we enjoyed the opportunity to explore the area by foot and public transport , only using the car once during our one week stay. We particularly enjoyed the drover trail walk to Oban, the nearby black lochs walk and the trip to mull as a foot passenger using the train, ferry and bus allowing us a perspective often lost when travelling by car.The train from connel to Oban takes just over ten minutes and only costs a few pounds return ...we were well pleased. Plenty of places to eat out and enjoy local seafood delicacies nearby. The finale to our week was finally having waited all week to spot the star attraction we were able to watch two otters for several minutes just below the window....magical. Finally we must mention the a wonderful hosts Gabriella and George, friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. We try to stay in a different waterfront location every Easter but will find it very difficult not to return to Cnocaruan very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Dear Mandi & Derek,
It gives us immense pleasure to see our guests enjoying our spot as much as we do. We are very privileged with our view and lovely scenery. It was lovely having you to stay and we look forward to your return visit to Argyll.
All the very best from us 2.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
tranent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow just breathtaking”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is spotlessly, clean with spectacular views of The Falls of Lora, just sitting on Fishing deck right at the water's edge was breath-taking I even had a lovely sighting of the otter !! The location of the house is perfect and isolated with beautiful views all around so peaceful yet not too far from shops etc It is very quiet and relaxing. The cottage has good internet and a lovely flat screen T.V. which is not shown in the photo on the web site, a good kitchen with modern appliances and lots of extra touches. The washing machine is in the hall way which is shared with the owners as the cottage is part of the owner’s house. There is a tumble dryer you can use in the shed just ask the owners. There was plenty of washing/dishwasher tablets and toilet rolls so no need to bring your own. We had a great week here and would be happy to return the owners were very helpful and welcoming. Everything you would need for a lovely restful time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Dear Gill & family,
Thank you very much taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the area so much. We try to equip the house with all the things we would like when we are away for a break. Hope to see you next time with your men. All the very best for now.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newenglan...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The views of the bridge, the waterfalls and whirlpools were amazing. We enjoyed watching the seals, sea birds as well as the birds at the many bird feeders. The weather was not nice enough for us to make use of the outside seating and chiminea but it looks nice. The location was close to Oban. We also walked to the village shop in Conell. The cottage was spotless. The kitchen was well stocked. The stove had a fan assisted oven.
There is parking in the drive which was a bit tricky as it is shared with owners and there is a blind drive. There is a mirror but it is still difficult to see going in and out of the drive.
We chose this cottage over others because it listed Wi-Fi as an amenity. There appears to be no router in the cottage. It was extremely frustrating as we lost the Wi-Fi connection almost constantly. Our phones do not work in the UK and the only way for family and work to reach us was through Wi-Fi so this was a huge inconvenience. It should not be listed as an amenity if it is not readily available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronhand
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous home from home with benefits”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location for exploring the West Coast. The house has everything you need and more with great views over the water. Gabriella and George are perfect hosts who leave you to your own devices but always available to help when needed. We will definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
Dear Jan & Ron,
Glad you enjoyed your short break and exploring lovely Argyll. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to your next visit when hopefully you can make your trip over to Mull yet!
Regards,
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing