We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Oban bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Oban bay”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have just returned from 6 days in Alexandra Hotel in Oban with Highland Heritage For the money (£254) you would find it hard to get better value - 5 nights B&B and 3 course evening meals with choices followed by tea or coffee plus day trips and evening entertainment. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the bay, has a nice indoor pool, a sun lounge and billiard room.The breakfasts were good but the dinner menu could have done with a bit of updating.The rooms are really nice with good ensuite facilities , tea/coffee making facilities TV etc The bar was very disappointing as it was not well stocked though what they had was very reasonably priced. Staff including the manager were polite and helpful. A good place fro a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathy_mccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    90
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
49
134
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sutton in ashfield notts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from a weeks break at the Alexandria hotel in Oban. from the moment we boarded the coach till we got off in Oban, we were kept up to date with our progress by the driver Colin pointing out places of intrest enroute. he also help pass the time away with jokes and funny tales of trips gone by. The magnificent hotel is right on the waterfront with stunning views out over the loch and towards the isles.
The food in the hotel is both varied and nutrious, a choice of three for starters, main meal and puddings all very well cooked and tasty.
The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. with fresh linen and towels when needed. there is a tv,hairdryer and a complimentry tea and coffee tray.
the recreational areas are a heated swimming pool, snooker table and a loverly new bar and dance floor with nightly enterainment and dancing.
Trips out on two days to campbell town which i feel was spoiled by the devopment work on the seafront but thats life and life moves on.
Thursday was to Stirling what a great place to explore but so little time, due to the terrain around the highlands makes getting there a tiresome journey. Wednesday was a optional day so we chose to explore Oban which as a castle, small airfield for flights around the lochs and glens and of cause the world famous Oban distillery. Yes we will be returning to the alexandria hotel.
From our greeting by the very amiable manager to our farwell on friday it was a fantastic experiance. Just one more thing before i go some moaned about the sanitizing of hands on a regular basis think on this would you sooner be poorly on holiday for the sake of 20 seconds. john

Room Tip: sea front rooms cost alittle more but the sunrise and sunsets are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jh16344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Oh why after travelling all day to reach hotel, do they take you on a long journey the day after. Ok the hotel was clean, but it was stuffy, no air conditioning. Sanatising hands when going into hotel,coach,dining room a bit much. Food not that imaginative for the prices paid. Staff understanding of english should be improved. Furnishings could do with a update. Hotel had great view of water and ships.

Room Tip: to see what's going on choose a front sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is one of the best experiences we have had. From the Highland Heritage pick-up to the drop off back in our local town. The Hotel was comfortable, with excellent attentive staff whose aim is for your enjoyment. The free entertainment in the ballroom/bar was fun. The meals well cooked with 3 courses + 3 choices for every day's dinner, excellent full breakfast with choices of breads, toast and cereals. Free swimming pool, comfortable lounge. The position right on the bay in Oban was superb. The rooms are ample size with a flat screen TV, on-suite bathrooms complete with over-bath shower. Fantastic. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank chicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We went with Highland Heritage Coach tours (which was half an hour late to pick us up). Arrived at 8 o clock for tea which consisted of very bland food. If you are over 70 then fine. We were constantly told to sanitaise our hands into the hotel even the staff waited to pump it into your hands!! Very hot hotel, too many plants, no staff around half the time and smelt like a care home. Bar shut by 11.15 (sometimes) no ice, warm beer and poor entertainment. If you want to use the pool then you have one hour in the morning and one hour at tea time thats it?? Why?? We went for our anniversary for a romantic break. Cannot fault Oban itself it is beautiful and breathtaking and the people are very kind and friendly outside the hotel take our advice and try the Steak House or the Light of India restaurant in the town. The local pubs are great too. The Manager Brian couldn't care less about the customer getting what they want. When my husband asked to stay out later than 11.45pm as he was taking me for a special meal, he was told the front door would be locked and that he would have to get the girl out of bed to open the door. When he replied fine I will, Brian once again said sarcastically "But you will have to get her out of bed!!" Not just use our key fob because without that you cant get in anyway. Common sense does not prevail here I assure you. We sensed he bullied the poor hungarian staff who ran around to get breakfast and dinner out in under an hour. They sweated, and dropped things because of this. In fact I commented that if they wore white frilly aprons and mop caps, they could almost belong to the victorian century. They were not happy and I dont blame them, they worked like trojans. Maybe if they were allowed to interact with residents they might be happier. We felt hurried and had to stay at the same table for the duration - no choice there then. No food choices and don't ask for baked beans for breakfast, they don't have any the eggs you could bounce on the floor they were that hard (perhaps to stop salmonella??) Rooms were fair but no telephones/information about Oban/no bible/no information about the hotel facilities. All in all we were treated like children and felt regimented and stressed. We only found out that there was a coffee machine downstairs at the back of the lounge on the last night. Staff would be nice to see around offering capuccinos or cream teas. And maybe use people who can speak english and communicate properly so that when we say yes we would like a cooked breakfast, we would get one before the journey home - we didn't. Maybe our yes means no. Patio furniture on the front. Anyway suffice to say we will not be going back to any of the Highland Heritage tours not now nor again - not even when we celebrate our Diamond wedding - Premier Inns here we come!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front view room because we got a lovely view of the silver venting system and the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

just returned from Oban Alexandra on coach tour.
Can not really find any fauult with hotel - our room with seaview was 'compact' - bathroom 'compact' with super shower - spotlessly clean.
Meals were very good - quality and quantity excellent - served quickly and politely by i think mostly east european (lovely) staff.
This trip is for people how like sitting on coach (from Midlands) for 11-12 hours - and doing the tours of about 7-8 hrs - !!
Had a feeling the whole trip was very organised like a military exercise - but it worked - especially in the dining room !! All i can say if you like hours of coach travel and endless 'T@P' stops and off and on the coach (in all weathers) needed or not (Drivers safety rules) this is a good and value for money trip!!!
money worth trip -

Room Tip: Room 44 is compact with 1 window overlooking Oban bay - lovely sunsets !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank bobbyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Being picked up at 7am in Oxfordshire, two further stops in Daventry and Rugby, 5 comfort stops on route made the 12 hr journey a long one. It was pleasant and informative thanks to Stevie our driver, but still long. The optional day trip (day 3) was declined due to the amount of coach travelling involved in the other days. We felt a break was called for and decided to stay in Oban and take advantage of the sights and places of interest.
It has to be appreciated that Oban is, like most towns and villages in this area, surrounded by mountains and Lochs with the roads being narrow country single carriageways, which extend travelling times. But this is compensated by the fantastic views. It seems that the road is never more than a few feet from water of some description, be it tiny streams, babbling brooks, Lochs that look like mirrors reflection the scenery, or salt water lakes and bays. Boats of all shapes and sizes moored and others enjoying the freedom of the water.
The Alexandra Hotel is comfortable friendly and relaxing. Much is made of the need to use the hand gel on entry, I had no problem with this and if it saves the spread of infection then think it a reasonable request. Entertainment was laid on each evening and those that attended seemed to appreciate and enjoy it. I have enjoyed the experience but doubt I would do it again, purely because of the amount of travelling involved.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have view across the bay to Mull. Back facing rooms look over chalets in court ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Property: Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland (Formerly The Alexandra Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Muthu Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
Muthu Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing