We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexandra Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have used Highland Heritage several times before but decided to try one of their other hotels.We booked in Dec for the following June. We asked for an upgrade to a seaview room and was told on two different occasions that this was reserved. Well we didnt get a seaview room we had a small room at the back of the hotel The breakfasts were good but dinner was poor. The trips were not as they used to be and as a platinum tour one day was optional (tour avaiable for payment) and the other no tour was available. It would seem that many corners have been cut to keep down costs. I have never heard so many people complain. On a positive side our coach driver John was very good and the young overworked staff were extremely nice. The only way to complain is to write to Mr Cleaver it seems despite our complaints to the hotel manager and phone calls by our concerned son to head office. No one has bothered to contact us. We want to go back to Oban but not with this company.

Room Tip: No point you wont get it People in wheelchairs put on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    80
    38
    21
    11
See reviews for
44
120
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

As the Alexandra is a Highland Heritage property virtually every guest has arrived by their transport and I am therefore reviewing each aspect separately.
(1) The Hotel:-
We found the hotel to be immaculately clean, well furnished and very well located. Our room (42) was large with a good bathroom and excellent sea views. Only small niggle was that there are no clothes hooks anywhere which can make for an interesting time when showering and juggling with the lovely bath robe (provided).
Food was plain and uninteresting - e.g. reconstituted turkey slices. As far as I could see not one fried egg was ever served with a liquid yoke. It`s hard to make a mess of toast but they managed it every time (soggy). Still, I suppose that you could say that overall the food was adequate.
Like others I definitely did not like the regimented mealtime regime and the inflexible meal times.

(2) Travel arrangements:-
These can only be described as truly awful! I knew that we were in for a long day as Oban is a long way from Sheffield but the pick-up system made the whole experience unacceptable. We boarded at Sheffield at 7.25 am and finally started our journey at 10.30 am after the final pick-up in Leeds. Sheffield and Leeds are 30 miles apart and it had taken 3 hours to cover this distance! We arrived at the Alexandra at 7.25 pm - a journey of exactly 12 hours! Dinner was delayed until 8.00 pm which gave us a half-hour to wait for our luggage and get cleaned up.
The tours that we went on were very good for the most part except that the trip to Tarbert was fairly pointless. Special mention must be made of Linda, our driver/courier - she was excellent. She was very knowledgeable about the area and it`s history and she has a great sense of humour. Her comments about the sites and features that we passed were very interesting and entertaining. Her story about the happenings at the Zoo is not to be missed.
Would we go again? Definitely not as long as the current pick-up and transfer system is in force. If this was streamlined to cut a couple of hours off the overall traveling time then yes, we would go again.
I should just add that we would be prepared to pay a little more for better travel arrangements, better food and more flexibility at meal times.
P.S:- I should mention our appreciation of the young eastern european staff - they were very efficient and pleasant but they were worked too hard to allow them much interaction with the clientele.

Room Tip: As has been said by others - upgrade to a superior room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, but very old fashioned. It is run with military precision which is ok if you like that sort of thing . There is an obsession with spraying your hands constantly with antibacterial spray, which almost made you feel bullied as you lined up to enter the restaurant. The food was like school dinners and needs to get into th 21st century. In this day and age people are used to higher standards. Probably this is why the tour is not too expensive. On a more positive note the staff were excellent and our bus driver called joe was brilliant he made the tours as he did his own commentary and was very knowledgable he spoke excellent English for a Slovakian. Entertainment at night was a bit bland with no variety could have had quizzes or bingo or a comedian. They also could have advertised in the rooms that you could have purchased a bottle of wine to enjoy with dinner, as you could not order wine at the table as the bar was closed during dinner!!! One of the highlights of the tour was the trip to see skippinish who were absolutley brilliant. All in all this tour gave us the chance to see the Scottish islands and even though the journey was so long we will never forget the magnificent scenery. would rather pay a bit more for better food and entertainment then it would be first class.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sylvana186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

John and Iris

The excellent organisation and quality staffing enabled us to have such a great time. Interesting views from the bedroom (room 2) windows were continually changing. Staff were always helpful and considerate. Choice and quality of food was adequate.

The significantly outstanding outing to Iona and the quiet peaceful awe inside the historic abbey were very special as were the impressive drives between the soaring mountains.

The final day with (a) it’s assured Scottish concert and especially the remarkable dancing of the two small girls and (b) the special evening meal (I was so surprised that my wife really enjoyed the haggis, tasting just like our local Black Country faggots) was special.

12 hours travelling to get there from the Midlands was the only drawback stopping from Stourbridge to pickup in Birmingham, Stafford, Stoke-on-Trent, Carlisle and Glasgow Airport - but the coaches were comfortable and we returned home in 10 hours!

Thanks to Ian Cleaver and all his staff we had a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EJD84_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel and once again it didn't disappoint, Brian and his staff run the hotel faultlessly, it is spotlessly clean, the staff are hardworking and extremely courteous and friendly, the food is good and plentiful. The only complaint and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars this year was the journey there and back, both times we had a link coach which handed over to and from the Highland Heritage coach at Tebay truck stop in the Lake District which was pretty grim, the car park inevitably was full of lorries which we had to dodge and the cafe itself was pretty 3rd rate, certainly didn't feel like eating lunch there, last year we had a lunch stop at Gretna Green which although touristy does at least feel clean and safe. Plan to go back to the hotel next year and hoping the handover will have been improved

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Just had an eight day stay at The Alexandra Hotel with Highland Heritage. The journey up from Nottinghamshire was soooo long 11 hours, not helped by the one and half hour change over from link coach to Highland Heritage coach at, Scotch Corner. It was raining and luggage was exchanged in the wet a complete shambles, I even saw a driver kick the cases onto the coach.Still the folk trying to get onto the coach before others had got off didn't help. We paid a supplement for a sea view which was lovely however we were promised upgrading to a premium room--it was small and not premium compared to other hotels we have stayed in. Meals were adequate but very bland, courses were rushed and staff were cleaning up around us before we had finished.The bar closed so the bar staff could wait on tables and was only open evenings pre and post meals.Staff worked hard. multi- tasked but we were rushed around so much we felt uncomfortable
The lounge was like an old folks home in fact I have seen more life in one of them. The entertainment was mediocre in the hotel. One night they even finished playing and put background music on as no-one was dancing, most were elderly and had had a long day so I found this quite rude. Mind you one woman resorted to doing her knitting which they must have found rude.
However the outings and the Ceilidh were very good Ian it would have been nice to have a wee dram to toast the Haggis still not expected when it was £1 for a small polystyrene cup of tea.Skippinish are well worth seeing. I suppose with the tours we had value for money but it wasn't quite the standard we expected. Maybe we chose the wrong week as there was no atmosphere in the hotel.
It would have been nice if the free day and the optional day tour to Bute were not after one another. We had recently been to Bute so did not go.
We went for the scenery and got it. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mylesosmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay starting 27th April and were highly delighted with it. The staff were very friendly, hard working and courteous and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The meals were excellent , different every day and the portions were very generous.Our room 38 which we stayed in had a sea view which was well worth upgrading to and was clean and spacious with panoramic view of the bay. We were lucky enough to be seated at the window in the dining room so we could enjoy the view as we ate and the lounge was also facing the bay.The tours each day were made more enjoyable by our courier Gary who was most knowledgible and witty and had us laughing in the aisles most days.Thanks again to Brian the manager and all his staff for an enjoyable stay and we hope to go back again in the near future

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room its worth the extra supplement for the fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol1948_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
The Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing