We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel beautiful position friendly staff excellent managment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we have just returned from 5 day break great value for the money, warm and very welcoming from day one, for this time of year the weather was a bonus, a plus was the food was served to you piping hot and if you asked for anything staff very helpful,we were lucky enough to have met very friendly other guests, many thanks to brian the ,manager who was always on hand to help,and may I say a fine figure of a man in his kilt , a credit to Scotland and the hotel,also to the coach drivers great patience,john.our coach driver,whose driving was excellent a pleasure
to have met will definitely return to this hotel many thanks to all Josie and mike, (fancy dress Hiawatha and minnihaha)

Room Tip: room 42 overlooking the sea, nice room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josephine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our first holiday to Scotland was taken earlier this year and our trip was quite wonderful. The Alexandra hotel, located right on the promenade of Oban's natural harbour provided us with fantastic views across the bay and the ferries going out and returning. The hotel is well staffed with polite, welcoming, friendly staff who gave us the impression that nothing was too much trouble which was particularly evident in the restaurant and bar. A good choice of high quality food is served and in the bar, a pleasing programme of entertainment and dancing coupled with the very reasonable bar tariff persuaded us to look no further in the evenings. Our room was large and comfortable, had tea/coffee facilities and a large screen TV. It was well furnished, warm, spotlessly clean and in our opinion, provided everything we could have wanted for the week.As a result, we are happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room upgrades are available and requests at the time of booking are recommended as are high floor, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronniehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just returned from a break at the Alexandra, and would return.

The hand sanitization, is a little over the top i feel, but you soon got into the habit of it all.

The room we had (36), was tired and in need of an update, the bedding and curtains, although clean, where faded and old.

The water in the bathroom is scalding and no signs up to warn you!!!!!!!!!!! The room was comfy and clean and the bathroom was very clean.

The view from our room was amazing, and we would suggest an upgrade is a must. The food was good, although the speed at which it is served is another matter, much too quick, they want you out and into the main hall for the entertainment(the chap on the accordian, should retire, it was worse than awful).

Oban itself is lovely, the ferry goes over to Mull, but out of season, there is no transport to take you anywhere.

The trips out were fantastic, the drivers, were amazing, the knowledge they have is brilliant.

Would we go again, yes, but not for a while, as with any coach holiday, you get fed up of the long journey and the on off the coach syndrome.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, as some rooms face the car park at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindylou2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had a great holiday through Highland Heritage but the journey took forever!! Picked up at Huddersfield at 7.20 in the morning and didn't arrive at the hotel until 6.30ish, nevertheless we friend and I enjoyed our three day stay, albeit wet! The staff worked very hard and were very polite and friendly. The food was good, a different menu every day with a choice.
Our room was cosy and clean. The bathroom lacked shelving, our toiletries having to reside on the floor. Plenty of towels and a good shower.
Our driver was, Colin, and had a good knowledge of Scotland. Very patient too especially as some people never listened to him and were late back to the coach on two occasions.
The only criticism of the hotel is that there wasn't any local information which would have been handy for our free day. Also there wasn't a reception area, only an office tucked away.
All in all though would recommend Highland Heritage but be aware of long journey,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as we had a room at the back looking out at a roof and a rather large pipe on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Some parts of this hotel were a 'little tired' but it was obvious that it was a work in progress. The room we had was warm and spacious - bathroom a little tired but water very hot and plenty of towels. A few cobwebs in the room though and the mattress was hard and lumpy.
Food lacked imagination but was adequate. Quite regimental in its routine - you had to be in and out of the dining room within an hour.
Very particular in hand sanitisation when coming into hotel and dining room - no problems with that - its just that when passing the kitchen one day it was evident cutlery was being dried with a cloth tea towel which is not hygienic.
However on the positive side we had a lovely holiday with Highland Heritage - tours were fantastic and our driver, John, was exceptionally informed with local and Scottish information.
The Western European staff worked hard and were always polite. We would definitely go again. Oban itself has some of the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room that is on the front of the hotel and NOT at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11mig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well positioned, just across from the waters so the views are great and the sky looks vast. My room, which was a chalet had everything I needed.
The food was hot and passable/edible. Nothing was so good that you thought Mmmm, lovely.
The hotel itself was fine. Clean. Big. However not having a proper reception meant that you were not always able to get hold of someone when you needed information. They had a board that they would write things on but this was not always up to date-ie: I got up at 6.30am to catch breakfast before the coach came at 7.30- thing is the trip had been cancelled but there was nothing in reception to that effect.
I guess it depends on what you are looking for. I travelled with Highland Heritage for this trip. I would mention the entertainment is more suited to the elderly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We've just had the most fantastic touring holiday in Scotland; Based at the Alexandra Hotel, on the sea-front in Oban. We were whisked , every day, to different destinations within touring distance; Back for dinner and the evening's entertainment of course! Our driver/ courier, John, seemed to know every mountain, every loch, and every battle that had been fought between which clans in the past! Linda, his replacement, was no less clever. The food, for ever meal, was absolutely superb; with three different choices of main, starter, and sweet every day; e.g .porridge, juice, boxed cereals, or Loch Fyne Kippers; followed by your choice of fried or poached breakfast. After your daily tours, there is a choice of, for example, home made tomato soup, smoked duck, or fruit juice; then venison stew, or white fish, or chicken. Every day the menu changes, and the food is cooked to a very high standard. Brian, the hotel manager, along with his staff also showed a great local knowledge. The manners, appearance, and abilities of the staff were first class, from the hall porters to the chefs! We'll be back !

Room Tip: We paid a little bit extra for a sea view room; it was FANTASTIC! Although all the Highland Heritage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland (Formerly The Alexandra Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £50 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Muthu Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
Muthu Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing