We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexandra Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another excellent holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the third time I have been to this hotel with Highland Heritage and once again it didn't disappoint, the room was comfortable and roomy and the food plentiful and good, I have always been impressed with the drivers but don't have the words to describe how good this years driver Joe was, his knowledge of Scottish geography and history were superb and he was so friendly and helpful all the time we were with him. I would give this review 5 stars were it not for the very unpleasant changeover at Tebay truck stop that we had this year and last, truck stops are not ideal for a coach load of (mostly) elderly people and this one is quite depressing as well

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    80
    38
    21
    11
See reviews for
44
120
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

just got back from our second visit to the Alexandra hotel at Oban ,a great hotel with lovely staff every one very friendly . The food is great and you will never be hungry .We had a twin bedroom overlooking the bay first class bathroom and all the mod con's you could ask for ! Both my sister and myself look forward to our next visit .
well done highland heritage staff and our driver Colin was great, lot's of stories and very helpful a lovely guy and more to the point a great driver

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the bay ----beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasant stay in this well situated hotel. Nice sea view from both rooms I stayed in while at this hotel with a panoramic view of the bay. Near to a variety of venues. Well managed hotel with good food good entertainment and pleasant staff. Well worth a visit

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Good hotel good food staff lovely had a single room comfortable and roomy but the badly planned 12 hour bus drive was exhausting. Travelled to india unpacked and settled in the hotel in less time than it took to pick up at all the stops especially in Preston. Enjoyed the break but would not recommend this holiday

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a very friendly hotel very well managed and a happy staff. My husband and I have had two wonderful 5day stays.One in Summer and the other in Winter. And will definitely go again. You feel welcome comfortable and cared for. We have been on tours with Highland Heritage and can recommend the drivers who have a great humour and an endless knowledge of the places visited along with a great knowledge of the heritage of the Highlands.Thus aptly named. The guests we shared the holiday with were a great bunch of people all of us different but all determined to have a good time, and the staff do everything to ensure that that is what you have. The food is good and plentiful. I have not found better value for money anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room it is incredible and if you feel like paying only a little more get a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and myself needed a short break away. We booked a 4 night holiday with Highland Heritage coach tours to the Alexandra Hotel in Oban in March this year. This turned out to be one of the best short breaks we have had. The hotel was very clean and had been upgraded which was evident with the décor and furnishings. Meals and entertainment were first class. Staff were very helpful with enquiries about anything. Bryan the manager made you feel very welcome. Staff were very happy at their work which made the total enviroment good. would definitely holiday with the company again and would recommend the Alexandra Hotel in Oban to all.
Irene Ferguson

Room Tip: Low down rooms great for anyone with mobility problems as windows gave a great view of Oban Bay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 975anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our 4th visit to this hotel as we love Oban, the hotel and the staff. The rooms are pristine, and the staff truly are the most helpful and friendly hotel staff we have ever come across. From Bryan, the manager who is approachable and professional to the other staff who smile at you every time you meet and for whom nothing is too much trouble.
Don't visit, however if you like fine dining as this is not the hotel for you.
5* Staff
2* Food

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christabel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
The Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing