We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell very short of expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On reading the flyer from Highland Heritage and as it was our first experience of a coach trip,our expectations were high.3hrs after being picked up by a feeder coach we eventually left the Greater Manchester area and were on our way.After a 10 Hr journey we arrived in Oban.Good reception by the manager and bags delivered to our upgraded room.Disappointment followed as it was nothing like the brochure had depicted and was small and in dire need of an upgrade.Query with manager was told all rooms same ,bathrobes and small bowl of fruit made it a premium room.Staff were hard working and food was good but outside meal times no hotel service.Add to this the outside doors were locked at 11 45 pm and no keys were issued to guests.We were expected to conform to this curfew.
The coach trip home was a nightmare.Breakfast served at 7 0 am and on road at 7 45 am .We arrived in Moffat half an hour from our pick up point in Gretna Green at 11 30 .By the tim we left Gretna at 2 45 we had wasted 3 hrs.of potential travelling time.Add to this the five drop off points in Gtr Manchester we used up another 2 1/2 hrs and completed our journey some 12 hrs after starting it.I accept and expect drivers rest times but this was the planned timetable without traffic delays.Although we are in our 70s we were disappointed in our first coach trip and not looking to repeat it any time soon.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank johnb528793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from our trip to the Alexandra Hotel in Oban. The hotel was excellent as was the food and service. Staff in the dining room were super efficient. No cold meals at this hotel, all hot food was served piping hot and tasted great. We really felt that all the staff and including Brian the manager cared that we had a good experience. Our thanks to all of them.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajag2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Last year I lost my wife and I needed a holiday and when a flier came though the door I was impressed. I booked the holiday for 6 days. we was greeted when we arrived at the hotel and did not have to think about my luggage as it was outside my room as I am disabled.
The hotel was very clean and so was my single bedroom.as we went into the dinning room we was greeted be the manager and staff, the food was excellent fresh and hot and a good choice.
evening entertainment was very good and if you wanted you could have a dance or 2.
Our driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. As I enjoyed the holiday I am planning next years at a different Hotel as they have another 3

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank BARRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just back from a 5day break to the Alexandra with Highland Heritage,brilliant holiday and food.We had a room at the back[no view]but as good as any we have stayed in.The hotel even keeps topping up the courtesy tray[great for early cuppas]The trips enabled us to see lots of places and JEFF was very informative.We didnt go on the optional trip,we went to Mull on the ferry ,then to Tobermory/Balamory [and we did see an eagle]The staff were very friendly and helpful and its a GREAT idea that they have a BIG bowl for tips on the last day[it was filling up nicely]as this is shared out amongst the staff.The free concert was very good and Skipinish the main entertainment was excellent. The hotel entertainment,was very good [but one did clear the room] Bar prices was reasonable ,and hotel ideally placed to walk into Oban or watch the sunset at the monument.Overall a very good holiday for us, as we had good weather and company[we will go again]

Room Tip: A lot was said about sea views,they are very good if you want to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

i have only just come back from this hotel i recomend this to every body. The level of service
from the staff is fantastic and the drivers on the trips are something to rember for years. I will be telling all my family to go there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

having just returned from the Alexandra Hotel Oban.we had a great time .the hotel was fantastic so clean and spick and span ,the food was excellent .the staff were tops. t he driver we had was
geof. or jeff .how ever it was spelt.he was very good and very informative and very jovial .
I only wish we had longer to enjoy one or two ferry trips to some of the small islands .the tours were very good .and also the concert.on the whole one of the best holidays we have been on,and
look forward to going again. a edwards

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank albert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had the best holiday we could have at the Alexandra Hotel with Highland Heritage. We had a superior sea view room it was fantastic. The staff and management were all very welcoming and pleasant. Real value for money the food was really good also the entertainment. The Hotel is in a beautiful position on the Bay, kept very clean and tidy.We would gladly go back there any time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view Number 34 also saw Room 74 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FloBo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland (Formerly The Alexandra Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Muthu Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
Muthu Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing