We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but I wouldn't stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OK but I wouldn't stay there again”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed in the apartments : this is a bus tour hotel and independent travellers can book the motel unit type apartments at the rear separately.
I am kind of reluctant to say bad things about the Alexandra : the people were very nice and trying very hard, and I think my issues may not be someone else's. However, here it is :
The good things :
staff were very friendly and helpful, except on arrival (see below)
the rate was very reasonable for Oban on the May weekend : £66 pn B&B
good parking away from the street, again very hard to find in Oban on a busy weekend
the hotel does have a pool which we didn't use and a bar and lounge
The bad things :
on arrival we were given no information about the hotel, it was about the same time as 2 coaches arrived. There was no information in the room, so we didn't find out about the pool until too late, and also had no idea about breakfast (other than the start time, fortunately my husband had previously stayed in guest houses run on very rigid principles so he did realise that we needed to turn up promptly at 8.30 for breakfast).
The breakfast : no choice, a choice of porridge or cereals to start, friendly service, terrible coffee, all served very promptly at 8.30.
The room : very large but smelled damp, over the course of a couple of days this aggravated my asthma, I was getting a bit worried. The room was not cleaned one day. The damp is probably due to a combination of the climate and the fact there is not much attention paid to these rooms, they would probably be OK if aired every day while being cleaned. The room was very clean on arrival though.
The other guests : I don't know how to say this without being unkind but they were bus party guests who were very elderly and largely complained about everything, very loudly. At breakfast we were segregated, but otherwise if you wanted to use the lounges or bar you would be in the company of very loud, elderly, complaining folk : it just wasn't fun.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    87
    40
    23
    14
See reviews for
48
127
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Swimming pool excellent. Rooms excellent. Dining room and food excellent. Everywhere was beautifully clean. Wonderfully situated. Staff very pleasant. The coach was clean and comfortable. I hope to return. Very good value for money.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmerliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

My friend and I called 'on spec' and found Bryan the manager more than helpful. We were shown to one of the hotel's apartment rooms which was spotless and perfectly maintained throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and service wonderful. We are already looking forward to next year's trip! We could not get over the value for money. We have stayed in Highland Heritage Hotels before but this is definitely the 'Flagship of the Fleet'. The swimming pool was a great asset which I enjoyed daily. Well done Aexandra!

  • Liked — The wonderful service
  • Disliked — Very difficult to say
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobyssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We've both (myself and my partner) just come back from a Highland Heritage Coach Tour, who own this hotel, yesterday. Very nice staff; no problems were too small and all in all an excellent stay was had. The customers which seemed to frequent it while we were there were, shall we say, in the retirement age bracket but we didn't mind that and we're in our early 40's. The front main entrance is locked 24/7 and access is made through a magnetic keylock system. This door was bolted though at 23:45 and no further entrance can be made after this time.This was, at first a bit maddening, especially if you wanted to go out and sample some of Oban's pubs. In hindsight though it stops any undesirables from maybe selecting this hotel for a weeks holiday. Nothing wrong I guess with that. The last thing you want it someone spoiling your much looked forward to holiday is there. All in all we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dave7634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar england
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

Visited this hotel in December 2006 but wanted to see Oban and surrounding areas when the days were longer and the weather better. The hotel looks over the bay of Oban and we were fortunate enough to see a full rainbow and a spectacular sunset. The staff could not have been more helpful. Everyone looked like they enjoyed their job. Half board consisted of FULL English breakfasts and three course dinners with water on the tables and coffee served in the lounge afterwards.
The hotel is one of five owned and operated by Highland Heritage Coach Tours. If you don't want to travel on the buses you can travel by train to Edinburgh or fly to Glasgow Airport and the coach will pick you up. We decided to drive to Oban and were given a reduction in the price of the holiday which almost paid for the petrol. We used the coach for our inclusive tours which were all excellent and were given lots of information by our driver. If you do decide to stay at the Alexandra, it is worth paying the extra for the rooms at the front of the hotel as the views from these rooms are stunning.

  • Liked — Sea View location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luvtotravelredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster england
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2004

Smashing sea front hotel, part of highland heritage coach tours.
recently refurbished to a high standard, nothing to fault, rooms nice and clean,food good, entertainment average, hotel quiet at night.
Both manager and staff very obliging.
Highlight was the quiz night chaired by the bar-man had everyone in stitches.
Would recommend to anyone and the views from the hotel: WOW:

Helpful?
36 Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
The Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing