We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use your money wisely”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Use your money wisely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here at short notice on 20 July 12. The hotel is very dated but was pretty clean. Our room was also dated, the bathroom suite was aubergine, thought they were outlawed in the 80's. The decor was very tired although the room was clean and the bed was very comfy. We were lucky and had a good view of the harbour. Had to fix the tv arial to get any channels, but figured it easier to self help than call for service. Food in the Retaurant was below par and the waiter struggled to get most orders correct, our drinks never arrived! Although the prices were reasonable. Overall, great location, but not on my list for future visits.

Room Tip: Definately get a harbour view, top floor quieter, but not a noisy location anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the restaurant and kitchen team. Regarding the décor there is an ongoing refurbishment plan in place which is scheduled to restart after the summer the (outlawed bathroom suites first on the list of refurbishment) Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    375
    233
    93
    60
See reviews for
167
513
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

we have stayed in the columba hotel 3 times and always found it good . our room was very clean and very comforable. our room has spectacular views of oban bay [ the front of the hotel ] . the breakfast is very good . the staff are very helpful and will attend to you very quickly. the hotel is very family friendly . the elevator is however very small , cramped and old , one man could only fit himself and 2 suitcases in with him [ very small ] the stair cases are slightly tired and worn out
however i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone i will definately be coming back :]

Room Tip: second floor bay rooms have spectular views of oban bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I cant disagree regarding the size of the lift however I think the impact would be greater on our clientele if we didn’t have one. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Being used to the larger rooms and facilities seen in US hotels, one's expectations need to be re-set here. You trade modern for authenticity. Space is at a premium here. The meals are similarly Scottish. But rooms are clean and the location can't be beat. There's a virtually "Presidential" bedroom over the dining room if you really want to stay in style -- Oban style.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I can appreciate that you are used to larger facilities however we do endeavor to work with what we have available. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We went into the hotel on speck. The reception staff were outstanding, and found us two rooms which more than met our expectations. My 86 year old mother was thrilled when we took her to our room,the Window Suit . My mother and sister shared a twin close to the lift and was lovely but our room left us speechless, my husband and I have traveled extensively and been in lots of hotel rooms, though the room is not yet finished, I did not expect to find a room of this standard in Oban.
I could pick on a few things in bathroom but I'm not going to as our overall satisfaction with the facilities of the room was 99%.
Evening meal was disappointing with most of the food over cooked, my husband was looking forward to Oban mussels but they were quite dry. Stuart looked after us with enthusiasm and made sure we got our cheese and wine to take to our room.
Breakfast was well presented, special eggs for my mother and sister were no problem to the staff, the food was lovely, Stuart and others were more than willing to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.
Thank you to all I will look forward to our next visit from Australia,I hope the staff keep there enthusiasm .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. I am pleased your overall experience was a good one and have taken on board your comments regarding your dining experience and have escalated them to our kitchen team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

A one night business stop over. Receptionist friendly and efficient. Booked a superior single room with sea view and was on the third floor with a truly great view. Room was dated but spotless and well equipped with hair dryer, not that I need one any more, iron and ironing board. The bathroom was bigger than the bedroom and included the wardrobe. Enjoyed a bar meal that was not pretentious but well presented and very good value for money. Again, the bar staff very friendly. Had an early start before breakfast was served and no problem in arranging a continental breakfast. Would make a good base for exploring this part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased you have rated our product as good value for money and your individual requirements were met regarding breakfast. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour. I had a good room on 1st floor overlooking Oban. I used stairs mainly but used a lift with another couple once. Lift was a bit old. Food was great. Staff brilliant and very helpful! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased the staff made an impact on your stay and have relayed the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Excellent staff very friendly and a great location,special mention to jackie and Pamela in the restaurant very approachable

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotscotjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the particular staff that were mentioned by name always a great accolade for them. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing