We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely views and good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked through laterooms and got a great deal. Very friendly welcome. We expected one of the poorer rooms but the lovely man on reception found us a nice double with a fantastic view. We ate in the bar and were amazed by the great prices. Not impressed by the starter -overcooked mussels but the main courses were terrific. We had a great night, very comfy beds. Breakfast the next day was a buffet and great quality though the girl in the restaurant has a face so sour she almost turned the milk! SMILE! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view - it can't hurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiegray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    374
    233
    93
    60
See reviews for
167
513
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Me and my partner own our own pub and were having a Refurb so decided for the first time in 3 years to get 5 days away.....was really looking foward to this.
we arrived at the columba hotel after a 7 hour drive..........the room which was meant to be a double was 2 single beds pushed together and made up like 2 single beds.
i even called 3 days before to make sure it was deffo a double and was assured it was.
The windows in our room didnt open as they were painted shut.....Middle of summer.
i still had a business to run so needed the wifi which didnt work for the 4 days we were here......i asked the staff and manager 4 times and explained i was losing my patience......it never got sorted.
the remote for the tv never worked.
we went down for breakfast at 8.45am
its served till 9.30
there were 6 eggs that had been there that long were like rubber and only bread crusts
when i asked the guy in the restaraunt what was going on i was told....thats how it is im afraid!

on the last day my other half brushed past the towel rail and burnt herself that badly its still in a mess.....the manager tried to give her a bandage but couldnt find the first aid kit!!!!!!so gaffa taped her arm up.....

THE LIFT IS ALSO THAT OLD YOU HAVE TO SHUT 2 DOORS ON IT BY HAND AND IT WONT WORK IF SOMEONE DOESNT SHUT THEM

the WORST experience i have ever had to deal with
STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christiesbar2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Visited West coast and stayed in Columba Hotelmfor one night. Had it been longer, would have asked for better room. Expected sea view and 'big Victorian high ceilinged room' Got town view and high ceilings but small room. Weird en suite dated from 1970s bath etc purple in colour. Shower a bit ineffective but it worked. Staff on desk a bit indifferent but pleasant enough. Breakfast was good buffet style and food staff good. We expected a wee bit of luxury as it is a hotel and it did not have that. No biscuits or anything in the room and only enough milk for one cup each.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and take your own biscuits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Spent two nights in the Columba. We had an excellent room overlooking the wharf area. The room was in two parts, one the main bedroom and two a lounge set to one side. The old elevator was something we only used once. Breakfast was very good. The location is very good, situated in the town centre and is an easy walk to bars, shops and restaurants. Free wifi is available through out the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

The Columba hotel is by far the most comfortable hotel to stay in when visiting Oban, we were passing through on the bikes and decided to stop over for one night but the weather was great and enjoyed ourselves so much decided to stay another night. The food is great and the service always delivered with a smile will definately return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Old hotel, a bit rundown but lots of character. Rooms are modern and clean. Decent breakfast. Free parking is very limited. Nice, fun bar on 1st floor. Walk to restaurants, shopping and ferry.
Lift does not always work.

Room Tip: Ask for water side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE COD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Ive stayed at the Columba many times since 1982. I'll be there again in November of '12. The Columba is like a grand old lady, a wee bit tired but very elegant. I love the old elevator. I love the location, smack dab in the middle of Oban and close to shops and restaurants. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. The views of the bay from some of the rooms is spectacular while other rooms have town views.

Overall, a comfortable hotel in which to stay.

Room Tip: Asknforna water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing