We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Base”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night half board deal at Columba. Hotel is in a great location right on the harbour, however very limited parking. 8 spaces tied to hotel, all other spaces are pay and display.

Room was clean and fairly recently decorated, New en suite (all rooms are en suite) a d no hot water or pressure issues. Freeview TV and all rooms have wifi (allegedly....). We had difficulty getting wifi in the room however ok in the bar and reception area. Then again, you're on holiday, do you need wifi? We used the hotel as a base for a mini break and Fort William is about an hours drive. Lots of good fish restaurants around the harbour and Calmac leave for the islands from here as well.

Breakfasts were good, full Scottish including porridge ! Or yogurts and fresh juices if you wish with toast, tea and coffee.

In short a good base, friendly staff good food, clean warm and nicely decorated rooms, although hotel slightly tired ( spotted a couple of rips in wallpaper in halls and woodwork is well worn).

Look out for mid week deals as they are very good value for money (£99 for two ppl 2 night stay, bed breakfast both days with 3 course evening meal and bottle of wine one night and afternoon tea the second night with sandwiches and cakes, March 2013).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Its nice to see that people feel the package deals that we have put together are good value for money in this current economic climate Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    379
    243
    98
    63
See reviews for
173
524
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotel is two joined Victorian buildings, one in grey granite and the other in red sandstone. Don't expect a luxury hotel, but the prices are not luxury either. Our rooms were comfortable and clean, the location on the pier is excellent, the room with the sea view (not a large premium) looked out over the sea as expected, and for the price we paid I thought it was good value. The hotel bar is not particularly attractive (no windows!), but we had no wish to use it anyway (it didn't appear that many others did either), but the dining room is attractive in an old-fashioned way, with an impressive original plaster-moulded frieze picked out in gold. Although parking outside the hotel is in a public pay-and-display car park, it is free from 6pm, and until 1pm on a Sunday, so cost us nothing. We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel, but breakfast was substantial and good. The buffet area however is a bit small when a lot of guests arrive at once, and the logistics of keeping all the hot dishes topped up at this time also challenged them. Overall though minor faults, which did not spoil our enjoyment.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the relevant heads of departments to review logistically what is the ideal solution with the least negative impact on our guests experience. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked a late deal and it was ok for one night. Room was adequate but oldfashioned, not particularly comfortable. Room was on the front, but not what I would call a sea view. Evening meal was good. Breakfast was poor, particularly the scrambled egg which was awful. Very limited parking at the front of the hotel. Use the nearby public car park overnight and pay as little as possible in the morning. However, the hotel is worth a visit if only to experience the old lift which is a real antique- like something from an old black and white movie.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evacat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback has been noted Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Room bit dated...but plenty space. All facilities that we needed. A wee biscuit with tea would have been nice though. Good view. Bed/bedding comfortable. Plenty choice at breakfast. Parking spaces available at front of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arinsanne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Positives first.. Great location and room was clean, modern and well equipped. BUT.. superior rooms are advertised as 'spacious with spectacular sea views' and don't get me wrong, if I had booked a standard room and been given room 306 I would have been delighted! But this room is anything but spacious! It's very small and the sea view is somewhat restricted with a very small window. Not at all what I expected and really disappointing :-( I also thought that breakfast could be served slightly later than 09.30 on a Sunday! We stayed 2 nights and didn't make breakfast either day. Lady on reception at the weekend was not the friendliest. Shame really as could be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. Firstly I am sorry that you were disappointed however you stayed over the Cattle sale weekend a very busy time in Oban and usually booked a year in advance on some instances however had you advised reception that you were not comfortable they would have endeavored to meet your expectations if not on the first night definitely on the second as there was space available. Regarding breakfast we tie in with early ferry times unfortunately it’s a catch 22 however we do try to accommodate guests where possible..

Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Visited the Columba Hotel for a short weekend break in Oban, arrived by train as hotel is just a short walk from train station. Eventually found the entrance to the hotel faced on to the sea and was speedily booked in by the polite helpful staff, took the interesting lift (Max people 4) to the third floor, room 313, this turner out to be a corner suit of two rooms and on-suite, one room facing the main road, the other the sea, unfortunately being single glazed, road noise is heard at night and early morning and can disturb light sleepers, the breakfast is buffett style and typical Scottish style breakfast fare with both cooked and cereal available. Did I enjoy my stay YES, will I consider this hotel in future booking yes.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room facing the sea and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBishopbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the window glazing with our maintenance team for review. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

great hotel for the money. good location, hotel parking available. rooms look as though they have recently been decorated although bathrooms are a bit dated. comfortable room, very friendly helpful staff. also a very good breakfast with plenty of choice. would book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandr38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing