We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break with friends”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at the Columba hotel last weekend with a group of friends. 12 of us in total, some staying 3,2,or 1 night. few of our party had mobility issues ....lift broke however was fixed immediately!!! Choose to eat in the bar area , food wonderful, large portions. Staff very friendly and bedrooms more than adequate and extremely clean. Will be booking again next year. Had a great weekend with good friends that even the weather couldn't dampen!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndsay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the hotel and thank for your kind comments hope to see you soon

Regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

have stayed at columba hotel many times never fails to impress,prime position on oban bay close to shops and ferry terminal. lovely part of west coast of scotland come see you won't be disapointed friendly staff great pub on site reasonable price for drinks, will be back again soon.

Room Tip: ''pay a little extra for a seaview room well worth it''
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 57matt950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future,

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel perfectly situated, nice staff, good breakfast.
The Oban Inn connected to the hotel was great, drinks very reasonable, free pool & good food!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our visit & will definitely return! Anyone who is looking to have all amenities within walking distance cannot go wrong with this hotel! Only downside if your driving there check-in early as residents parking is very limited!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the great feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel in mid January and had breakfast and dinner here on both days - We couldn't fault the service, or the food - it was up there with the best! Our double room had lovely views over Oban Bay which were stunning to wake up to - prime location hotel!! The staff couldn't do enough to assist us and the manager was very friendly and attentive - overall, excellent service and we will be back this summer to take in Oban at it's very best and will be staying at the Columba Hotel again! Thank you all for making our stay a memorable one!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lbg23790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the hotel and thank for your kind comments

hope to see you soon

Regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Columba have been hosting our monthly lunch club for well over a year now. They have consistently provided excellent service to go with their tasty and well presented food. The management and staff of the hotel have gone out of their way to make us welcome and accommodate our group, which some months can be as large as 30 people. They also provided us with by far the most reasonable price of any of the hotels in town. Quite frankly I don't know what we would do without them!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndySea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Columba Hotel

Many Thanks

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is excellantly situated on the front of Oban and close to the town and all amenties lovely views looking over to Mull and the other islands, had a lovely weekend food good and staff helpful looking forward to visiting again later in the year

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesTaffy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the great feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Columba before catching the ferry to Harris the next day. This hotel boasts an excellent location, excellent staff and an excellent breakfast. The only downside, was the room. Right above the bar, next to the main road out of Oban.

We spent the night wandering the seafront, down past the cathedral and beyond. Back at the hotel, the room was snug and warm, a little bit of noise when the pub kicked out and the constant flow of traffic.

Breakfast was superb, couldn't be faulted. Somehow managed to bag a window seat and enjoyed the view.

I have no hesitation about recommending the Columba to anyone planning to overnight in the peaceful town of Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or the lochside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PackageMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am very disappointed to read the issues about the room.Please accept my sincere apologies and I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,007 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oban
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing