We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a great time rooms clean and nicely decorated bed very comfy , the breakfast was excellent very good selection of food the staff very helpfull especially a young man called sandy we will be back in summer time

Room Tip: Corner room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to sandy, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future
Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely hotel large rooms very clean all staff very friendly and happy to assist guests good central location. Special mention to Vic who went out of his way to accomodate vegetarian at breakfast food good only one downside lift hard to operate although staff always able to help with same.

Room Tip: Room 302 had lovely views all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

hotel very comfortable warm and very helpful staff very clean rooms, will vist this hotel again we where just bed and breakfast , breakfast was buffet that had everything that you would need to eat there where snacks on the menu all through the day if you require them they where very nice

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future
Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our double room was clean & nicely decorated . Unlike some other reviewers I had no complaints about the comfort of the bed although the pillows were too hard for my taste & kept me awake ,but if I had been there another night would have enquired about softer ones
The staff at breakfast were rushed but pleasant & the meal itself was good. Reception staff were very friendly
We travelled by train so parking wasn't an issue but there did appear to be a lack of parking. Location is wonderful & only a short walk from the railway station
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scotspearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at this Hotel. The Hotel is still a bit tired and dated in places but I imagine it is being refurbished in stages.
The room was large enough as it was a family room we were allocated, but it was two single beds pushed together and the mattresses were left wanting for comfort.
The bedroom finish was OK but nothing special. The en-suite bathroom was fresh but again required some maintenance. For all the time we were in the room it was OK.
(my brother and his wife were in an adjoining room and reported similar uncomfortable beds)
We had a drink in the bar the first night and it was just your average older bar.
The second night we had a drink in the lounge and it was more modern and fresher in appearance. We also ate in the Hotel restaurant the second night and the meal was good and a mix up with starters soon rectified.
Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold items including fruit and the hot trays were replenished frequently.
Location is perfect for the seafront in Oban and even if the residents parking spaces are full, the hotel borders a public car park that is reasonable for all day parking.
Ok decision time...... would we stay there again?
Staff made up for a hotel that is still worn, tired, even a bit shabby in places - so if the beds were more comfortable, yes I would stay there again.
I got this as a 2 day deal with B & B and 1 evening meal so price was ok and my brother found a good price online too - worth it at the reduced rates but there may be nicer at the full price you may need to pay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back.
We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked this for me and my mum and could not complain about anything staff very helpfull food was nice and fresh. Room clean and got a good room facing onto road and part water. Would go back again as this was my 1st in oban but my mums 4th time..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0141claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team.

A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work.

So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future

Darrell williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed at the Columba for the 2nd time., we booked the room with the bay views. Room is big and
the views were great. Book the view room!
Staff is friendly. Just a few minor things, the large bed was actually 2 beds pushed together.
I always say that hotels should look into memory foam as they are so much better then a spring mattress. I could feel the springs in the bed. The breakfast was ok , would be nice to have more of a fruit selection. The waiter forgot to bring us Tea. The lift at the hotel is old and can hold 2 people at a time. The location is great and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolwoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
855 reviews
0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £48 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing