We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a very nice room on the 3rd floor overlooking the bay. The bed was very comfortable and the decor was modern and clean, the bathroom was small with a good shower. We didn't go into the bar but really enjoyed the self service breakfast which had lots of choice and very pleasant staff serving hot drinks. The hotel decor was a bit tired and the small lift was a challenge with the 2 doors you have to pull across before moving but we only used this with our luggage. Would stay here again if we ever return to this lovely part of Scotland.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellers_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nearly everything was excellent with one exception: the bar - it is horrible. Anyhow I would choose this hotel again! The staff was very nice and helped us a lot (concerning informations but also to bring our bags to the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulrike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Some features in our stay were very good and some not so.
The room was a bit small, but ok, bathroom very good and the harbour view was excellent.
The food is very good, served by lovely friendly staff.

The bar is just awful...desperately in need of refurbishing.
One of the disappointments for us is that there is nowhere to sit and relax, except for your bedroom.No lounge or comfortable seating area at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Non welcomming staff, they do not know what a smile is. Breakfast quality very average. The coaches use to park in front of the windows of the dining room avoiding then the sea view. Very poor bed and I got a stiff neck while there !!! Ashame we could not go on the "balcon" to appreciate the view. At least the thick carpets in corridor keep e very smelly odor.....

Room Tip: If I had to go back to Oban, I would not go back to thïs hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

An excellent stay, in a very commodious room with a magnificent view over the North Pier and the bay. I have mobility difficulties, but the staff couldn't do enough for me at the breakfast buffet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brigtonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future
Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed in this hotel over the haloween week in 2013, the hotel was in the process of being modernized, but there where always a group of cleaners keeping public areas spotlessly clean. the bed room where very clean and modern with every thing you could need> the only problem being some of the walls where rather thin. staff very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with everything you could ever wish for. Evening meals plentiful and excellent. Would recommend and stay again, but earlier in the year to explore the surrounding islands

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_Hiho9_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for review on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future
Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We felt lucky to get two rooms on a Bank Holiday Saturday night.

Check in was easy and friendly.

Rooms were very nice - mine had a view over the harbour and distant hills (very nice). For birdwatchers - I saw a Black Guillemot from bed.

Easy parking right by the hotel.

Great location for exploring Oban.

Good breakfast available from 0730.

We felt lucky to have found such a nice place in such a good location at such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for review on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future
Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing