We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total letdown”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Stirling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Total letdown”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Drove for 2 hours to then sit in a carpark for 45 mins because the resident parking is actually a public carpark. Hotel is very outdated lift was prehistoric and the buffet breakfast wasn't upto much and no room service even though it says it does. all in all not the most enjoyable of experiences

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigibson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    378
    240
    94
    62
See reviews for
173
517
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon. Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Charming Victorian Hotel, at the old pier (now a food court), easy to reach, close to everything, with private and public parking facilities.
Great views from almost every room, high cielings and confortable large bed but small, old, noisy bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Charming restaurante and nive bar over the port.
Good value for the offer!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms may be quieter but we had no problems with a cityview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DVirella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our first time staying at this hotel but was a last minute holiday on a bank holiday weekend and only hotel available. We have stayed in a few hotels in Oban but was a bit disappointed by this one.

Positives

Room large and spotlessly clean, bathroom also spotlessly clean, WiFi and usual tea/coffee making facilities.

Member of staff extremely helpful when there were issues with door card (mainly down to us not using it properly,though another couple had the same problem)

Pleasant reception staff.

Clean.


Negatives

Paid for a junior suite with sea view. Room was only a large room with a sofa tucked in a corner and the sea view was from an extremely small window stuck in an alcove right at the far end of the room with a table and one chair, which had to be moved out the way in order for you to look out the window to get the sea view, which was overlooking to the train station.

Breakfast was a buffet breakfast which was lukewarm at best and totally tasteless, we have had a better breakfast in Tesco, breakfast staff fairly indifferent. Think the buffet needs to be improved or at least checked every now and again to be replenished when food is "old".

Noise from people coming out the pubs make it difficult to sleep, this is not the hotel's fault but does influence your thoughts on returning, not sure if the hotel has double glazing but if not might be a thought to invest in some.

We were not informed that there was work being carried out at this hotel and we were awoken at 8am by workmen hammering and climbing scaffolding. One had also left his empty mug on the window, noticed this because we seated here in the dining room for breakfast, not a good advertisement, detracted from a nice view from the dining room. Realise hotels need to carry out maintenance when hotel is open so as not to lose money but guests really should be informed of this so they can make the decision as to whether they want to stay with work going on.

Would we stay here again, possibly if no other hotel available and they improved the breakfast and gave a better description of the sea view from the rooms (very disappointed in that). The hotel was clean and most of the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Drrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I asked for a room near the lift and payed extra. The room was as far away from the lift as possible. It was actually a hoist and after one trip, I was glad to use the stairs, albeit subsidence rendered the stairs very uneven. The smell of stale food and the badly worn carpets took my mind off the uneven stair.
A thoroughly unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great view from room. Great location. Close to all the main attractions. Walking to most of the restaurants and the bus tour was great. Meals were fine and the rooms were clean. The
beds could have been a little firmer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. The room was clean and comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for baths,which were very welcome as it poured with rain for most of the time we were there,so it was good to have a hot bath at the end of each day!
Breakfast was good on our first morning, as we were catching an early ferry to Coll and had breakfast at 7.30.We were later on the second morning and the choice wasn't as good.
As everyone says ,the lift is ancient and hard to squeeze even two normal sized people in.The public areas could do with being upgraded, but I hear they are doing the hotel up gradually so maybe that will happen eventually. Only one other small thing- we asked for a wake up call on the day we were getting the early ferry which never happened,so it was as well we also set our phone alarm just to make sure.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view but actually what you see is the roof of the restaurant next door with the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.
Kind Regards
Darrell Williams General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, staff were friendly and the hotel was clean.
We had a lovely view of the harbour from our room.
I did think the decor of reception and hallways is a bit dated and the lift is awful which we tried not to use however you can tell the stairs are very worn and feel uneven under the carpet.
Breakfast was alright reasonable section of food although could do with larger glasses for fruit juices.
The bed was not very comfortable the matress was very thin which was bearable for one night.
The free parking for the hotel seems to fill up fast so we had to pay for a few hours.
Overall the hotel was nice but I do think it wasn't great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing