We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good size room. Clean and tidy. Excellent location. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Male waiters smiling, helpful and give you a feeling that their pleased to see you. Female staff were helpful, but the whole time we were there I never seen them smile once. Not the attitude to have in this industry. However my wife and I will diffidently stay here again.

Room Tip: They all seem good, but hard beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards


Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here - room was perfect, lovely bathroom, convenient location for the town and restaurants. The bar was good value for a late night drink too! The staff were without exception helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMartin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel is situated close to the harbour, shops, resturants and boat and ferry trips. Lovely scenery. We had booked 2 rooms a double on the first floor and twin room on the third floor. Check in was quick even though the check in time was meant to be 2pm our rooms were ready at 1.30pm time of arrival. Some areas of the hotel needed abit of a spruce up and a lick of paint. Cooked breakfast was nice plenty of choice. Would recommend for short break. Visit McCaigs folley overlooking Oban lovely panoramic view of the area and the islands beyond.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor room 116. It overlooked a derelict pub the Oban Inn. Also next to the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gally1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

one of the most expensive hotels in town Oban (July 2014). Room 25 on 3rd Floor: no possibility to open the whole window (inside the room was more that 28 degrees). Very Old lift was out of Order several times a day, bad to be on 3rd floor then ..
Breakfast could be improved. Hotel should get face lifting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fantastic location right in the middle of the town. We had a room looking out onto the street but it was still very quiet even though it was busy. Room was clean and nice although the shower wasn't great. Breakfast was a miss too as it was a buffet and things continuously ran out. There was no bacon or beans and by the time they arrived the eggs had run out etc. Overall a decent stay for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Da616a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The property itself has real potential. It is in a good location with wonderful views across the harbour from some rooms. The hotel is poorly managed however and the rooms are over priced. They seem to cater mailnly for coach trips.

Room Tip: This hotel only seems to have one good sized family room with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627Paul_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had last been to the Columba Hotel in 1964 for our honeymoon! We were unable to book accommodation this year because we could not find any dates which suited us but we were able to enjoy an evening meal at the hotel. A nostalgic evening which did not disappoint us! The menu was very varied, and very reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and efficient, and took an interest in us, particularly when we told them we were back after a 50 year break! We were able to show them both the brochure we had kept from 1964, and the 'bill' for our stay then. We were very sorry that we had not been able to book into this hotel. - maybe we shall be able to get back again for another memorable holiday in Oban. We shall certainly try to book at the Columba.

Room Tip: We were only able to have a meal there, so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarquisJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £42 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing