We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty poor meal thrown at me!”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pretty poor meal thrown at me!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I work in Oban as part of my professional life and I am involved in high quality tourist provision where serious customer care is paramount. I occasionally eat out when here because I don't fancy cooking after a full day at work (long hours of very demanding work) I elected to pop in to the eatery run by the Columba Hotel best described on the side of the pier area facing into town. It's a sort of bar but not a pub proper. I ordered pate followed by Gammon Steak with a pineapple ring. Well apart from having the food 'dumped' on the table with little care by the staff member, the pate was poorly presented and it was obvious that it had just been thrown together. Not bad but just lacked presentation and care. Then the bad one, literally, the gammon arrived and a tried to tuck in. The chips were poor and possibly out of a bag, the gammon was small and rather tough and the ring-don't know where that had been but it was awful. It was OFF and seldom have I tasted anything so disgusting. The salad was unexciting and again just slung onto an oblong plate to try to look pretty. I didn't want to fuss but you know what, I should have and now feel somewhat irresponsible. If I had been IC the kitchen I should have wanted to know. Looks to be a good hotel but how it could be seriously let down by poor ancillary business is anyone's guess. Come on guys, you can do better. You let yourselves, Oban and Scotland down 'cos people talk. Hope this is a blip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    379
    243
    97
    63
See reviews for
173
524
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked in here last minute , lovely big room overlooking the harbour, clean , tidy, and well decorated.
Breakfast was very good as was the service .
For the money could not fault it and would book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteRRHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good size room. Clean and tidy. Excellent location. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Male waiters smiling, helpful and give you a feeling that their pleased to see you. Female staff were helpful, but the whole time we were there I never seen them smile once. Not the attitude to have in this industry. However my wife and I will diffidently stay here again.

Room Tip: They all seem good, but hard beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards


Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here - room was perfect, lovely bathroom, convenient location for the town and restaurants. The bar was good value for a late night drink too! The staff were without exception helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMartin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel is situated close to the harbour, shops, resturants and boat and ferry trips. Lovely scenery. We had booked 2 rooms a double on the first floor and twin room on the third floor. Check in was quick even though the check in time was meant to be 2pm our rooms were ready at 1.30pm time of arrival. Some areas of the hotel needed abit of a spruce up and a lick of paint. Cooked breakfast was nice plenty of choice. Would recommend for short break. Visit McCaigs folley overlooking Oban lovely panoramic view of the area and the islands beyond.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor room 116. It overlooked a derelict pub the Oban Inn. Also next to the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gally1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

one of the most expensive hotels in town Oban (July 2014). Room 25 on 3rd Floor: no possibility to open the whole window (inside the room was more that 28 degrees). Very Old lift was out of Order several times a day, bad to be on 3rd floor then ..
Breakfast could be improved. Hotel should get face lifting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fantastic location right in the middle of the town. We had a room looking out onto the street but it was still very quiet even though it was busy. Room was clean and nice although the shower wasn't great. Breakfast was a miss too as it was a buffet and things continuously ran out. There was no bacon or beans and by the time they arrived the eggs had run out etc. Overall a decent stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Da616a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing