We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality in a place that feels like you are abroad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Inverness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality in a place that feels like you are abroad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I went with a group of friends for a girls' weekend away, the staff knew our group as some of us had visited previously and had a family connection to the hotel, they went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the service was amazing, thankyou so much :) :) :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    374
    230
    90
    60
See reviews for
166
509
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel itself is lovely, though I have to say I was shocked by the price when I saw the size of my room, I had no bath, which I was very disappointed with, though the overall service was excellent, it was just the price of the room and the standard of it which disappointed me

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards


Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A good location hotel with sea view rooms available but has very limited free parking. There is an adjacent public car park, 80p per hour until 6.00pm, which gets very busy. The hotel has not been modernised which makes it quaint, in particular the lift has to be experienced. There appears to be a problem with the room door cards; ours did not work, there was a maid nearby and she could not get it to work so she went to reception to get it fixed. Other guests appeared to be have the same problem.
The major plus was the receptionists who were very pleasant and helpful. I lost two membership cards and before I could say anything to the receptionist she handed them over to me.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and was very acceptable.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a sea view room and also experience the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the Team on reception

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I work in Oban as part of my professional life and I am involved in high quality tourist provision where serious customer care is paramount. I occasionally eat out when here because I don't fancy cooking after a full day at work (long hours of very demanding work) I elected to pop in to the eatery run by the Columba Hotel best described on the side of the pier area facing into town. It's a sort of bar but not a pub proper. I ordered pate followed by Gammon Steak with a pineapple ring. Well apart from having the food 'dumped' on the table with little care by the staff member, the pate was poorly presented and it was obvious that it had just been thrown together. Not bad but just lacked presentation and care. Then the bad one, literally, the gammon arrived and a tried to tuck in. The chips were poor and possibly out of a bag, the gammon was small and rather tough and the ring-don't know where that had been but it was awful. It was OFF and seldom have I tasted anything so disgusting. The salad was unexciting and again just slung onto an oblong plate to try to look pretty. I didn't want to fuss but you know what, I should have and now feel somewhat irresponsible. If I had been IC the kitchen I should have wanted to know. Looks to be a good hotel but how it could be seriously let down by poor ancillary business is anyone's guess. Come on guys, you can do better. You let yourselves, Oban and Scotland down 'cos people talk. Hope this is a blip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked in here last minute , lovely big room overlooking the harbour, clean , tidy, and well decorated.
Breakfast was very good as was the service .
For the money could not fault it and would book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteRRHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good size room. Clean and tidy. Excellent location. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Male waiters smiling, helpful and give you a feeling that their pleased to see you. Female staff were helpful, but the whole time we were there I never seen them smile once. Not the attitude to have in this industry. However my wife and I will diffidently stay here again.

Room Tip: They all seem good, but hard beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards


Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here - room was perfect, lovely bathroom, convenient location for the town and restaurants. The bar was good value for a late night drink too! The staff were without exception helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMartin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future

Kind Regards

Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing