We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Deal in Scotland!”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Scotland!”
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The outside is not impressive. The reception is not impressive. (but the staff is) The elevator is old and quirky. But what matters are the rooms and breakfast---and both are excellent. I booked on Expedia and didn't really know what to expect. What a pleasant suprise!! We arrived on the train and walked with suitcases from train station to the hotel. The outside facing the bay was not encouraging. But when we got to the room, we were very happy. Breakfast was very good and served in a sunny room with friendly staff. It was a buffet but special orders were also available. We had to depart before breakfast time and a cold breakfast was provided. We could not have asked for a more helpful and friendly staff . Close your eyes as you approach (the entrance is not facing the bay) and prepare to be suprised.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    378
    240
    94
    62
See reviews for
172
517
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The hotel was clean with nice staff but the biggest suprise was that the public areas didn't prepare me for the room !! - Obviosuly the hotel is going through renovation at the moment and I had a fantastic new room with great views over the harbour. The renovated rooms must be the best in Oban !!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gram45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I was very pleased with this hotel.
My room had been newly renovated and the view from the window was spectacular.
The breakfast was great, buffet style but has something for every taste.
Very friendly staff, nice people.
I would suggest that you book in advance and request a newly renovated room as I did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We made a confirmed gauranteed booking with bookinngs.com several weeks in advance. On arrival at 11.45pm, after a long days travelling we were told by the night porter that the hotel was fully booked and were sent to an inferior located hotel about a mile away. The hotel did not even have the decency to try to contact me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annoyedHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
transaxmad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel is in the course of being renovated (no interruption to service or room clenliness except for the odd smell of paint during the day).

It boasts amazing views out over the harbour, sea and surrounding islands. Very close to the train station (less that a 5 minute walk around the harbour) and highly recommended.

The staff are friendly and inviting and the fod was great. the breakfast spead was always fresh and tasted great too.

A big thank you to Sue and the team for making us feel so welcome.

They are obviously working hard to make this the perfect modern hotel.

Thank you all!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transaxmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel in one of the refurbished rooms - everything you could want from a modern room. On our last night we stayed in the State Room - absolutely magnificent /resplendent Victorian grandeur and ideal for a honeymoon or any other special occasion. Service in the hotel was friendly and efficient. The only improvements I would suggest would be a slightly more imaginative breakfast (typical hot plate/catering for bus tours) and employment of a window cleaner - our first room above the bar was particularly in need of one!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Columba for a weekend break at the end of April. We booked a package through Easy Breaks and were very happy with our experience. All staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and the room clean and comfortable. The Pier Cafe has a very relaxed atmosphere, we particularly enjoyed sitting at the upper level seats looking out over the harbour. The hotel is a bit old fashioned in areas, with the lift a flashback to the sixties (or earlier!), but that did not detract from our satisfaction. The restaurant has a lovely outlook over the bay. Only down side was the shower - it was not easy to control and tended to splash out over the bath and onto the floor - which was carpeted!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing