We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like family!”
Review of Glenburnie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburnie House
Ranked #5 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at Glenburnie House. Graeme and his family and staff not only provided a lovely welcome with beautiful accommodations, from the moment I arrived I was treated with the warmth and attention that you might expect if you were a member of their family. As a solo traveler, places that make me feel immediately at ease stand out above the rest, and Graeme deserves all five stars for being a friendly and attentive host, as well as taking the extra time to help me with my plans and with some great recommendations in town. I had a fantastic stay and will certainly return the next time I travel to Oban. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneDinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear SuzanneDinSF

It was a pleasure to read your terrific review following your recent stay with us here at Glenburnie House. We very much appreciate it.

We enjoyed having you with us. It is so important for our guests to feel that they are welcomed and truly taken care of during their time in Oban. We are very happy that you felt this.

The team enjoy recommending things to do, and local places to visit and dine, and any one of us is delighted to chat through suggestions with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie in the not too distant future.

With best wishes

Team Glenburnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Glenburnie House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Glenburnie is outstanding for its décor,breakfasts and service.Nothing is too much trouble for Graeme the owner and his staff.We were given shortbread and tea on arrival,requested sheets under duvets and had restaurant and taxi bookings made for us.(It`s a 15 minute walk along the esplanade to the town - easy and pleasant for the fit) Book early as this year we could not get our required week.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 with their sea views are best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Eric L

We were so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at Glenburnie.

Certainly Rooms 4 and 5 are some of the best sea view rooms that we have. We're sorry that you couldn't travel during your ideal dates, but delighted that you were flexible with these so that you could stay with us at Glenburnie. It continues to be a busy season, and many are booking early to ensure that they can secure their preferred rooms and dates.

It was lovely to read that you felt everything from Glenburnie's decor to breakfast and the service offered from our team made your stay so enjoyable. That is our main aim!

As you say, Glenburnie has a terrific position, in that it is close to the town centre, a leisurely walk for those who want, yet very easy for us to organise taxis for those who don't.

We always remind our guests that we are delighted to offer tea, coffee and a sweet something on arrival or in the evening if they like. Super to hear that you took advantage of this!

Thank you so much again for such a positive review.

The Glenburnie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We definitely recommend this Guest House. The decor is outstanding with attention paid to every detail. I loved walking up and down the stairs to our room on the third floor because I got to see all of the elegant decor on each level. There is a lovely glass enclosed sitting room at the entrance as well as a warm living room inside. The breakfast room is elegant and the breakfast is superb. The first thing you see upon entering the breakfast room is a wide selection of fresh fruit. I had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and mushrooms both mornings. The full breakfast was the best we had in our two weeks of travel through Scotland. The location is great---just a short walk to the center of town but in a quiet area.

Our room was large----beautifully furnished with a king size bed and a sitting area with two comfortable chairs facing the water. We really enjoyed the view from our room. The bathroom was spotless and roomy.

Graeme is a wonderful host---very, very pleasant with excellent taste. Thanks Graeme for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 is quiet with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear InTraveler

What a super review - the Glenburnie team appreciate it very much!

As you found, Room 9 is certainly a very popular choice with many of our guests. We would agree, the views that can be enjoyed from those comfy archairs are incredible!

We are pleased that you liked Glenburnie's decor so much. We had spend months renovating our main public hallway areas about a year ago - and so far, the feeback has been extremely positive.

Breakfast is something we are constantly striving to exceed our guests' expectations about. We feel the fresh fruit options are essential, and something that those staying with us consistently positively comment on. We were thrilled to hear that you felt Glenburnie's breakfast was the best you had enjoyed on your two week Scottish break, and are delighted to be able to add you to our list of breakfast fans!

Whilst as you mention Glenburnie's sitting room is a relaxing area for all our guests, many often forget about the glass enclosed conservatory style porch area. Another great place to relax in and of course, enjoy those terrific views over Oban Bay.

With all our best wishes and we hope to welcome you back to Glenburnie in the future.

Team Glenburnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed one night in May in room 4 waiting to catch ferry. Lovely views & a large very comfortable room with excellent bathroom facilities. Great breakfast in room looking out over esplanade to sea. Graeme & his team were excellent hosts. Thank you.
Will be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have the sea view. Cannot comment on others.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latetraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear latetraveller100

It was super to read your review of your recent stay with us at Glenburnie House.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and found your bedroom and ensuite bathroom so comfortable.

We would agree with you, there is no better place to savour a Glenburnie breakfast than in our dining room with its wonderful views over the sea.

Do let us know when you will be coming back for the longer stay you mention - it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Glenburnie.

With best wishes and thank you again for such a positive review.

The Team at Glenburnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Oban is famous for its signature whisky the OBAN 14. It should also be famous for the Glenburnie B&B. I was attracted to the B&B by the views out over the bay and the beautiful bay windows in the rooms. We booked a double room and a single room for our daughter.
The decor Graeme and his family have established over many years is beautiful, homely yet sophisticated. Its clear they know what they are doing and are very polished in their interaction with guests. Spending time to talk about family and experiences, offering to help with bookings and local knowledge or any other request you might have.
The breakfast room is elegant, white tablecloths and silver service on the tables. The food is delicious and you are most likely going to over-eat, just because its all fresh and tastes so good while you sit and look out over the bay. The full breakfast was one of the best we had in 19 days travel.
The rooms are well appointed and decorated in line with the building era. Our room had a separate sitting room looking out over the bay and separate bedroom.
In the evening we went to Eeusk on the north pier for dinner, reservations essential where we had a half-lobster for dinner watching the sunset. There are any number of low-key fish and chip shops in town; some touting their status as best fish and chip restaurant in Scotland/UK.
The boardwalk around the edge of the bay is pleasant as well if you fancy to stretch you legs.
Ultimately we took the tour of Oban Distillery. A nice sized distillery to visit in the centre of town. The nice touch here is that you keep your whisky glass as a souvenir of the visit. I use it every night now I am at home for a wee-dram.
Go to Oban you will enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms on the 1st floor (above ground level) with the bay window.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Paul K

What a wonderful review! It was so kind of you to take the time to write about your recent experience at Glenburnie House. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us so much.

Glenburnie's decor is a topic of ongoing discussion for us, as we are very keen to stay true to the house's history. It was super to read that you felt we have done this, whilst managing to create a homely yet contemporary feel.

We are likely biased, but would agree with you - Glenburnie's sea view rooms do have spectacular views. They are definitely very popular with everyone who stays.

The team enjoys creating a special breakfast dining experience and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed it so much

Please come back and see us soon to enjoy a wee dram!

Thank you so much again

The Team at Glenburnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A++ to Graime and his staff - from the warm welcome - to the teddy bears on the beds - the amazing breakfasts and the stunning decor - the comfy beds and down bedding - it was a wonderful 2 night stay. Definitely coming back to visit

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Suza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Suza223

Thank you so much for your review. We're all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie soon!

All our best wishes

The Glenburnie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Glenburnie is a real gem. The décor is beautiful, the breakfast was wonderful. The breakfast included both cold and hot offerings, and plentiful fresh fruit choices. The room was small but well equipped with a modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Service is excellent. There is a very nice parlor with a view of Oban harbor. The breakfast room also has a lovely view. Restaurants in Oban are about a 20 minute walk away. If you book an upstairs room you will have to climb stairs as there is no elevator. However, the reward could be a view of the water.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility, book a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathym736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Cathy M

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us following your stay at Glenburnie House. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay with us so much, and liked the decor of the house.

As you rightly say, as Glenburnie is a Victorian house spread over three floors, and for the prime sea view rooms, our guests do need to climb several flights of stairs. However, for those unable to do this, we have rooms on our ground floor. Albeit these do not have sea views, as you positively experienced, guests can enjoy super vistas from Glenburnie's porch, sitting room and dining room.

It's always encouraging for us to read that our guests enjoy their breakfasts, as owner Graeme Strachan works hard to ensure everyone has a wide a la carte choice, together with creative fresh fruit options.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenburnie in the not too distant future.

Thank you again

The Glenburnie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburnie House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £90 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on The Esplanade, Glenburnie House offers an unrivalled bed and breakfast seafront location with spectacular views across Oban Bay and Kerrera IslandFamily run for over 40 years, Glenburnie has been in the Strachan family since 1968 and continues to be one of Oban’s visitors’ favourite places to stay. From the moment you step inside the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, with Glenburnie’s friendly experienced team offering a warm welcome.The 12 en-suite rooms have been individually decorated using beautiful fabrics and colour schemes, yet retain many of the house’s original features. Spacious and comfortable, accommodation is en-suite offering complimentary wi-fi, flat screen televisions, together with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off-road parking.Be it enjoying Glenburnie’s delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast in the wonderful dining room, with panoramic sea views, or relaxing with the papers in the conservatory style porch watching the boats, we look forward to having you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenburnie Hotel Oban
Glenburnie House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing