We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B should be (and more)”
Review of Glenburnie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburnie House
Ranked #5 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything a B&B should be (and more)”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at Glenburnie House in May prior to and between sea-kayaking trips. Arriving from Glasgow by train fairly late in the evening, Glenburnie is an easy walk from the railway station (about 15 minutes). Graeme's friendly welcome, despite the late hour, made me feel at home right away. The house is beautifully decorated with a lot of style. The rooms are a delight, comfortably furnished with excellent beds. I stayed in two different ones on two separate occasions - a twin overlooking the rear of the house with an ensuite bathroom and a double with its own private bathroom across the landing. Unfortunately, neither one had a sea view but that wasn't a problem for me as they were both so comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent with some wonderful fresh fruit and cereals before the generous cooked breakfast which was probably the best I had during my two weeks in Scotland.
Along with all these highly positive points, the thing that really makes Glenburnie House stand out is the atmosphere that reigns there. Graeme and his team really go out of their way to make guests feel at home. The two youngsters doing the breakfast service (Graeme's son and daughter?) were a joy to chat to and Graeme had great local restaurant recommendations, made reservations and even dried out a bit of soggy kayaking gear for me.
For years now, my wife and I have been dreaming of opening a B&B of our own. If ever we get round to it, we'll be returning to Glenburnie for a master class in how to run one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ianb77

We were so delighted to read your terrific review following your recent stays with us at Glenburnie. Thank you so much!

We strive to make all guests feel like Glenburnie is their 'home away from home' and are thrilled to hear that you felt so welcomed by everyone.

Your positive comments about our decor and accommodation are much appreciated, as much time is spent during the Winter months planning updates and new designs. In addition, we know that high quality mattresses are essential for a sound night's sleep, so were pleased to read you found them comfortable.

We are very passionate about creating a memorable breakfast for everyone who stays with us - so thank you very much for the 'best breakfast' accolade - this made us all smile.

Indeed, the younger Strachans work at Glenburnie at weekends and during school holidays. Trained by our core team of experienced staff, they enjoy the interaction with our guests. We were happy to read that you enjoyed chatting to them both.

We'd be delighted to offer any advice and help that we can if you and your wife start your new venture and are flattered that you would ask us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie in the not too distant future.

Warmest wishes and many thanks again

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    42
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
190
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

An elegant, tastefully decorated Victorian house with a lovely view over the bay and the passing ferries. In a quiet spot but an easy stroll along the esplanade into town. Welcomed by Graeme, the owner, on arrival.

Large clean room with a comfortable king-sized bed. Contemporary bathroom but strangely the shower cubicle juts into - and lights up - the bedroom (though frosted glass means privacy is not an issue) and water pressure is rather weak on the second floor.

Delicious fruit salad and choice of cooked breakfast or croissants. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ssxguy

We appreciated you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Glenburnie House.

Indeed we would agree that our location offers the best of both worlds; extremely quiet with terrific views over the sea, yet only a short walk into Oban town centre.

It was interesting to read your feedback on the bathroom in your room. This was re-designed and brand new for the start of this season. As you say, it is contemporary, offering a fun and quirky design bringing light into the area, yet retaining guests' privacy. Typically we don't have challenges with our water pressure, and we are sorry to hear that you experienced this during your stay.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us, and found the Glenburnie team friendly.

With our best wishes and many thanks again

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice B&B in a quiet location with great view over Oban bay. clean comfortable bed great bathroom with a massive shower, short walk into town. Good breakfasts plenty choice. WiFi not very good. Decent car park .

Room Tip: All the rooms look good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear AngusMc2013

Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay with us at Glenburnie House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, comfortable bed and massive shower!

We are so sorry that you found our wi-fi to be a little slow. This is something that we are currently reviewing as as yet, the area does not have fibre optic broadband. However, this is coming to Oban soon and we will be taking full advantage of this for Glenburnie.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were on the second floor and our room had a living area and bedroom. We were on the front of the house so we had a beautiful view of the water and islands. Breakfast was delicious and Graeme was very helpful with advice about what to do and where to eat. Very happy experience for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Margaret807

It was lovely to welcome you and your family to Glenburnie House recently, and was super to have you all with us.

We were so pleased to read that you had such a 'happy' experience during your stay. That is what we strive for with all of our guests.

Indeed, our front facing sea view rooms do offer incredible vistas. When guests sit on their sofas or armchairs, it can often feel like you are almost in the water!

We hope that you come back and visit again soon.

With all our best wishes and thanks

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koenigstein, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went there for two nights in a single room in June.It was just great : very nice room, spacious very clean and quiet, friendly welcome and an excellent breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and a variety of tasty dishes like salmon on scrambled eggs.
Highly recommendable!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Anna F

It was super to read your review following your recent stay at Glenburnie House.

Terrific that you would recommend Oban's visitors to stay with us - the best accolade we could ask for!

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts during your stay. The fresh fruit selection we offer does get a lot of positive comments and is something we are very passionate about providing.

Chef Strachan's signature smoked salmon and scramled egg stack is a very popular choice for many of our guests who order this from the a la carte breakfast menu Glenburnie offers.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to write your review for us.

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, tx
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Graeme, his family, and staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. Lovely and immaculate room with plenty of space. Great breakfasts. Cheerful assistance with restaurant and taxi bookings. Location toward the "quiet" edge of town but still in walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear screenname101

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review after your stay at Glenburnie House.

We were all delighted to hear that you found our team welcoming and helpful.

As you mention, Glenburnie offers the best of both worlds, enjoying both the peace of being right by the sea on the Esplanade, but only a short walk into the centre of town.

We do hope you will stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie House.

With our best wishes

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at Glenburnie House. Graeme and his family and staff not only provided a lovely welcome with beautiful accommodations, from the moment I arrived I was treated with the warmth and attention that you might expect if you were a member of their family. As a solo traveler, places that make me feel immediately at ease stand out above the rest, and Graeme deserves all five stars for being a friendly and attentive host, as well as taking the extra time to help me with my plans and with some great recommendations in town. I had a fantastic stay and will certainly return the next time I travel to Oban. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneDinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear SuzanneDinSF

It was a pleasure to read your terrific review following your recent stay with us here at Glenburnie House. We very much appreciate it.

We enjoyed having you with us. It is so important for our guests to feel that they are welcomed and truly taken care of during their time in Oban. We are very happy that you felt this.

The team enjoy recommending things to do, and local places to visit and dine, and any one of us is delighted to chat through suggestions with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie in the not too distant future.

With best wishes

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburnie House

Property: Glenburnie House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on The Esplanade, Glenburnie House offers an unrivalled bed and breakfast seafront location with spectacular views across Oban Bay and Kerrera IslandFamily run for over 40 years, Glenburnie has been in the Strachan family since 1968 and continues to be one of Oban’s visitors’ favourite places to stay. From the moment you step inside the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, with Glenburnie’s friendly experienced team offering a warm welcome.The 12 en-suite rooms have been individually decorated using beautiful fabrics and colour schemes, yet retain many of the house’s original features. Spacious and comfortable, accommodation is en-suite offering complimentary wi-fi, flat screen televisions, together with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off-road parking.Be it enjoying Glenburnie’s delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast in the wonderful dining room, with panoramic sea views, or relaxing with the papers in the conservatory style porch watching the boats, we look forward to having you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenburnie Hotel Oban
Glenburnie House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing