We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each room is different”
Review of Glenburnie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburnie House
Ranked #6 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Each room is different”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wonderful B&B overlooking the bay at Oban. The rooms were large and each one was different. Four of our tour members had rooms on the top floor with us and we quickly found out how unique each room was. Each room had some kind of a stuffed animal on the bed (see photo below) One of the rooms near ours had a small chair and table in the bathroom. Large shower, no bath tub, and no washcloths.The breakfast was excellent. Our room #11 had side-by-side single beds with a great view out over the bay at Oban. The Glenburnie is a little ways from the restaurant and port area of Oban, Maybe a 10-15 minute walk. . I would have no hesitation recommending the Guest House to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Joe-SVL

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor report following your recent stay with us at Glenburnie House.

It is lovely to read that you would recommend us to other guests who are travelling Oban. This is the best compliment we could have!

Certainly, all our rooms are different. As the building is Victorian, we have ensured that we kept many of the original features as these are what gives each room and the house its character.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us so much. This is something we work hard on, ensuring a wide selection of fresh fruit and a la carte options.

Thank you once again for writing such a positive review for team Glenburnie. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    42
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
187
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, TX
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Room 9 at this lovely B&B for two nights, July 20 and 21 with a Rick Steve's tour group. I hated to leave. As others have said, Graeme and his staff were wonderful. I promised to return. Loved the location, the hospitality and the view from our room. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Oban.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissBonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear MissBonie

It was super to have you with us recently at Glenburnie House.

We were all truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. And we loved the fact that you didn't want to leave!!

As you promised, do come back and visit soon - it would be wonderful to welcome you back to stay at Glenburnie House.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to write a review for us - we all appreciate it very much.

With all warmest wishes

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at Glenburnie House for 2 days in July, and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! We loved Oban--its beautiful scenery, and fabulous weather were wonderful. Glenburnie house is in a great location for walking into town and exploring the area. Graeme and his staff were fabulous--his dining recommendations were always spot on, and when Mary learned that we hadn't received our luggage after almost a week, she offered to do our laundry for us. Breakfast was delicious, the setting was beautiful, and on the day we left (before breakfast was to be served), they laid out a continental breakfast just for us. Graeme even met us early with go cups of coffee. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: The big rooms on the front of the house have divine views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear helmths

What a lovely review to read! It made us all smile and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in Oban at Glenburnie House so much.

We are likely biased, but would agree, Glenburnie's sea view rooms are wonderful. You can sit for hours watching all the comings and goings on the water. They are definitely very popular with our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie House soon!

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed in this B&B for 2 nights in May and it was the best B&B I had in a 3 month trip.Graeme and his staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom included a table and chair and it was all very clean. . Even A Teddy bear on the bed. I had a wonderful view of the ocean as I sat on the cushioned window seat to watch a spectacular sun set.The breakfasts were fabulous. Fresh fruits and berries, not all blended together in a fruit bowl. Good hot meal selections . Over and above all another B&B's this trip.I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Donna165

It was wonderful for our Glenburnie team to read your terrific review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing TripAdvisor report for us. As you know, we enjoy what we do very much and this goes a long way to help create such a warm welcome that you commented on.

Room 8 is certainly a special room! Many guests love its corner position overlooking the sea, and comment that you can sit on that window seat for hours on end - especially when the sunsets are spectacular ones! As you mentioned, the bathroom is a super size.

We work very hard to ensure that our breakfasts offer the very freshest of items, and certainly ordering a la carte means that we can cater for everyone's tastes, serving exactly what they feel like at the time versus having to decide the night prior. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us.

Come back and see us again soon!

With all warmest wishes

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed two nights here while in Oban for a wedding. Our room at the top was spacious and clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. Graeme and his staff are all helpful and friendly, the breakfast excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Most of all, the view from our room was breathtakingly beautiful. Come to Oban and when you do, you could do a lot worse than stay at Glenburnie.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear PaulB

Thank you so much for your positive review. It was super to have you with us here at Glenburnie House.

Certainly the vistas from our sea view rooms are wonderful and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed these.

It's always encouraging to hear that you found our team helpful and friendly as this is what we strive for.

Do let us know when you will be back to visit, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Glenburnie House.

With best wishes and thank you again

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at Glenburnie House in May prior to and between sea-kayaking trips. Arriving from Glasgow by train fairly late in the evening, Glenburnie is an easy walk from the railway station (about 15 minutes). Graeme's friendly welcome, despite the late hour, made me feel at home right away. The house is beautifully decorated with a lot of style. The rooms are a delight, comfortably furnished with excellent beds. I stayed in two different ones on two separate occasions - a twin overlooking the rear of the house with an ensuite bathroom and a double with its own private bathroom across the landing. Unfortunately, neither one had a sea view but that wasn't a problem for me as they were both so comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent with some wonderful fresh fruit and cereals before the generous cooked breakfast which was probably the best I had during my two weeks in Scotland.
Along with all these highly positive points, the thing that really makes Glenburnie House stand out is the atmosphere that reigns there. Graeme and his team really go out of their way to make guests feel at home. The two youngsters doing the breakfast service (Graeme's son and daughter?) were a joy to chat to and Graeme had great local restaurant recommendations, made reservations and even dried out a bit of soggy kayaking gear for me.
For years now, my wife and I have been dreaming of opening a B&B of our own. If ever we get round to it, we'll be returning to Glenburnie for a master class in how to run one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ianb77

We were so delighted to read your terrific review following your recent stays with us at Glenburnie. Thank you so much!

We strive to make all guests feel like Glenburnie is their 'home away from home' and are thrilled to hear that you felt so welcomed by everyone.

Your positive comments about our decor and accommodation are much appreciated, as much time is spent during the Winter months planning updates and new designs. In addition, we know that high quality mattresses are essential for a sound night's sleep, so were pleased to read you found them comfortable.

We are very passionate about creating a memorable breakfast for everyone who stays with us - so thank you very much for the 'best breakfast' accolade - this made us all smile.

Indeed, the younger Strachans work at Glenburnie at weekends and during school holidays. Trained by our core team of experienced staff, they enjoy the interaction with our guests. We were happy to read that you enjoyed chatting to them both.

We'd be delighted to offer any advice and help that we can if you and your wife start your new venture and are flattered that you would ask us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenburnie in the not too distant future.

Warmest wishes and many thanks again

The Glenburnie Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

An elegant, tastefully decorated Victorian house with a lovely view over the bay and the passing ferries. In a quiet spot but an easy stroll along the esplanade into town. Welcomed by Graeme, the owner, on arrival.

Large clean room with a comfortable king-sized bed. Contemporary bathroom but strangely the shower cubicle juts into - and lights up - the bedroom (though frosted glass means privacy is not an issue) and water pressure is rather weak on the second floor.

Delicious fruit salad and choice of cooked breakfast or croissants. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Glenburnie, Owner at Glenburnie House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ssxguy

We appreciated you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Glenburnie House.

Indeed we would agree that our location offers the best of both worlds; extremely quiet with terrific views over the sea, yet only a short walk into Oban town centre.

It was interesting to read your feedback on the bathroom in your room. This was re-designed and brand new for the start of this season. As you say, it is contemporary, offering a fun and quirky design bringing light into the area, yet retaining guests' privacy. Typically we don't have challenges with our water pressure, and we are sorry to hear that you experienced this during your stay.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us, and found the Glenburnie team friendly.

With our best wishes and many thanks again

Team Glenburnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.1 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#10 of 93 in Oban
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburnie House

Property: Glenburnie House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on The Esplanade, Glenburnie House offers an unrivalled bed and breakfast seafront location with spectacular views across Oban Bay and Kerrera IslandFamily run for over 40 years, Glenburnie has been in the Strachan family since 1968 and continues to be one of Oban’s visitors’ favourite places to stay. From the moment you step inside the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, with Glenburnie’s friendly experienced team offering a warm welcome.The 12 en-suite rooms have been individually decorated using beautiful fabrics and colour schemes, yet retain many of the house’s original features. Spacious and comfortable, accommodation is en-suite offering complimentary wi-fi, flat screen televisions, together with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off-road parking.Be it enjoying Glenburnie’s delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast in the wonderful dining room, with panoramic sea views, or relaxing with the papers in the conservatory style porch watching the boats, we look forward to having you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenburnie Hotel Oban
Glenburnie House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing