We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
335
48
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
48
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit breakfast was delicious bay window minute walk guest house sitting room sized bed top floor view of the water wonderful view spacious room oban bay ee usk watching the boats town centre salmon full scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast on The Esplanade overlooking Oban Bay. Our spacious and well-appointed room was on the third floor overlooking the bay while our daughter had a cozy private room on the ground floor. Our host, Graeme, warmly greeted us at the door and then graciously booked us a dinner reservation on the waterfront. We ate a delicious breakfast sitting in the bay window overlooking the tiny garden and the bay. Highly recommended!

This property is a beautiful, 3-4 minute walk from the city center along the waterfront. Try some scotch at the Oban Distillery and stop for coffee and sweets at the Oban Chocolate Company! The Scottish Tablet ice cream is a must. ;) We had a fantastic fresh seafood meal at Eeusk as recommended by our hotel.

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

My wife and I had a great room with a wonderful view of Oban Bay in this spacious and comfortable accommodation. You could even sometimes watch gulls sweep right past the glass.

I was amazed at the size of our room, which really offered everything we needed. I'd been a little concerned when I saw a guest house on our travel itinerary, but I had no reason. This was easily one of the best places we stayed on a tour stretching from Edinburgh through the highlands and points west.

We received a brief greeting on arrival with just a few tips for using the keys and getting breakfast then headed up to our room. Great windows offered a wonderful view and easy ventilation, and the upper floor room was easy to keep cool even on hot August days.

Everything was kept clean, we had fresh towels and washcloths and the location was convenient to town and the ferry. A helpful guide provided great information including good recommendations for restaurants.

Breakfast was served with a smile, and cooked orders were handled amazingly fast.

A really great spot.

Room Tip: Upper floor front is a great choice for the view of the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sidney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Why can't more inns act like they care about the comfort of their patrons! The proprietor met us in the lobby (about 25 of us) told us what to expect, what floors the room were on, how to deal with amenities and getting in touch with staff for any reason. The breakfast was continental to begin with (fresh delicious fruit), and then a hostess came around to take order of warm breakfast, recommendations and very personable. We felt so at ease.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We can not say enough nice things about the Glenburnie House. It's a beautiful home with very warm and welcoming hosts. Each room is different but ours was amazing. Top floor with a spectacular panoramic view of Oban Bay. Room was very spacious with antique furniture and a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean and roomy. Breakfast was very good. It's a very easy and scenic walk into town. Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip tour around Scotland.

Room Tip: Upper and forward most rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last weekend, just one night and would rate it highly. I would certainly use it again and would recommend it to my friends. It was immaculately clean, breakfast was very good and the staff were excellent. Nothing whatsoever to complain about. The owner is to be complimented in maintaining such a
high standard.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank peacockGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews