We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff very good”
Review of Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancaster
Ranked #85 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

very nice staff ,as stated in some reviews ,dated ,we had ok room seaview double ,pricewise ok but never have we had to pay for full stay ,when we booked in ,,hey buts thats ok with me ,saves the hassle when you leave ,,,over all would stay there again in same room ,,be lucky guys hope the guests who stayed there backed the horse i told them running on the day we left ,sun central be lucky keep smiling bob

Room Tip: if staying ask for seaview double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Worst experience ever. Damp room and no shower. When I complained the owner offered me a hose pipe attachment to put over the bath taps. In desperate need of upgrading. Avoid at all costs. Only good point was that the owner gave us a refund.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottScottScottt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

this hotel is probably in the lower end of the acceptable market, the staff save it. when we checked in I commented that it had the look of the Adams family house from the tv series, the person behind the desk said 'more like faulty towers'. The climb up to the first floor is a wee bit daunting though, if you have mobility problems this could be awkward.
The room was old and dated, but extremely warm and comfortable, bed was great, smashing view to the front, we were in room 8, above the front lounge, shower and toilet was a bit cramped but plenty of hot water. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room as well. On the first night we ate out and on return sat in the lounge, couldn't believe how cheap the drink was, pint and a gin and tonic for under £6.00, way cheaper than where we come from.
Breakfast although it was served on smallish plates was plenty, lots of juices, coffee and as much toast as you wanted.
we stayed 2 night for a wedding. on the second morning we missed breakfast by 15 minutes, the reception lady organised us a couple of bacon and egg rolls and cereal with coffee and tea, great service. plenty of parking, if you couldn't park at the front, there was a bigger car park at the back.
We sat in the lounge and a couple of guys wandered in, tuned up and started playing the guiar and accordian, all very folky, thoroughly enjoyable, well done guys.
All in all hotel is a dated, could do with a good refurb but we would come back, it has a sort of welcoming feel about it that makes you feel relaxed

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8, nice view across the harbour down the strait, would try for that one again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My sister ,elderly parents and i stayed here last wk . On arrival we were informed that our sea view room booked wks before was not available . Alighting the stairs my 90 yr old dad got the fright of his life when the bannister wobbled . Our rooms were filthy .Dust everywhere. Wallpaper falling off walls .Picture frames falling apart. Stains on the carpets .Curtains stained and full of dust . Sticky toilet floor .Used cloth in the shower . Disgusting .In my opinion this hotel is a health hazard .We invited the owners to our room which they insisted had been cleaned that day . (Joke) They could only apologise and say "heads will roll for this ".Excuse me owners but the buck stops with you !!!We were given a full refund . Had we not had our parents with us we would have slept in our car .Better option.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

stayed for 2 nights in August. The staff were friendly but the whole hotel is badly in need of renovation. The décor, yellow walls and pink ceiling, bathroom and shower very in need of renovation. The breakfast was ok but as another review stated the plates are rather small with the food piled on top of each item. There were a lot of foreign tourists staying here and I do not know what they thought of the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it allows dogs. The staff, especially the young man on reception, was friendly and efficient. The room was shocking. We were asked to pay upfront. I now understand why. I would have wholeheartedly disputed the tariff in the morning. The beds were so damp that my companion slept on the dog duvet. The shower was split and leaked most of the water through the hose before it got to the shower head. The shower cabinet was split and leaking. The room smelled stale and the shower/toilet smelled strongly of pee. There was black mould around the windows. The furniture is old, but that is ok unless, like here, you wake up every time the bed squawks or when your hair is stuck to the headboard.

This hotel has so much potential; superb site, tourist hotspot, lovely staff. Sadly, something has gone wrong.

Room Tip: Doubt there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were given a "family room" complete with a broken folding bed, all-1960's decor and an ashtray. The folding bed was unusable, so there were a double bed and single bed for 4 people. It was so difficult to sleep because of the old squashed mattress and the traffic noise that started at about 5 in the morning. The breakfast has a similar composition as you may get in youth hostels: a very basic one.

Since other hotels were fully booked, I stayed there for one night with my family "en passant" Oban.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#68 of 94 in Oban
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Oban
Lancaster Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing