We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster
Ranked #89 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The positives; staff are lovely, position is wonderful with gorgeous views and breakfast is acceptable
The negatives; our room was awful.Unclean, horribly dated with a window that would not open and a radiator that could not be adjusted.Bed was horrible, mattress old and uncomfortable.En-suite was a tiny cupboard with an inadequate shower and a curtain hanging off the rails .The sink was in the bedroom!There was a greenhouse type heater .There were wires dangling everywhere.The cheapest of toiletries and the curtains had to be seen to be believed.Felt like a hostel in 1953.There has to be better value than this in Oban.Felt sorry for staff having to fend off complaints.What a waste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    43
    52
    108
See reviews for
62
106
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you want a pristine modern hotel, go to the (Double the price) oban bay next door, if you want to experience genuinely warm friendly service that will cater to your every wish and go beyond the pale for you....come to the Lancaster, my hubby, our dogs and I where made to feel like family...Clean comfortable room, good wee TV with all the freeview channels and a HOT-TUB, sauna and pool, we will DEFINATLEY be back, special mention to Laura -ann who is a star, and John the owner is a true gent, the lad who served us for breakfast was a gem also.....5 star service throughout!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had 2 nights here got to be the worst Hotel We have ever stayed in. Badly in need of a re-vamp the shower was not fit to use shower curtain hanging off and water barely warm, the bed was so uncomfortable we hardly got any sleep. When the bedroom was serviced they didn't even make the bed, have never stayed anywhere that the bed was not made. Its only saving grace was breakfast was good and the young boy that served us could not do enough but He was the only one that even asked if everything was okay

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roymollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is my second stay at the Lancaster and yes to be fair it's a very "tired" hotel in places but the location, friendliness and atmosphere more than make up for it. Being of a certain vintage I can remember the 60/70's so I absolutely love the feeling of stepping back in time. I've came to the conclusion that the owners know their market really well and rather than trying to compete in a saturated high end market are going for a unique niche. The swimming pool is an added bonus as is the pool room which hosted a tournament while we were there which let us meet the locals. If you want to sit in a hotel room or bar that is pristine, fashionable but soulless then maybe you should stay elsewhere. If you want to be with good company, relaxed surroundings, a warm welcome and a view to die for then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view pas it's breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had booked a 2 night stay for an Easter break. When we first walked in we both immediately thought the worst... it's very dated. Rooms are very basic but it was clean which is the main thing.

The owner has a lot to answer for, if it wasn't for all staff we met being so friendly and accomodating then this would have been a negative review but again, the staff made it so all in all we had a good time.

We had booked it with the owner via the phone a few weeks beforehand and he had quoted us a different price than what the receptionist had noted down. There was no issue and we got it at the cheaper price. In addition to this, we asked for extra towels and we immediately got them.

Both the lady on the bar and the Irish barman were both very friendly and very down to Earth so this made up for the poor hotel. Poor tables & dart board in pub a bonus.

Cheap enough break, if you want somewhere to sleep and central then it's OK but to be honest we wouldn't be back.

Staff are an asset so if the owner is reading this then you should be thankful for them otherwise there would have been another complaint!

Swimming pool was clean.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

two days away what can you need ??? Bed Room (with sea view if possible) and a shower..............

Well I got a room it was small needed painted windows which let the wind blow through a floor which felt like it was full of holes and a shower/wc en suite ?????? sliding door off a room which had a shower and wc behind it. WC was clean soap provided all ok I could put up with it for two days then ........ I looked at the shower curtain sorry I could have bought one for a pound in the town it was a health hazard... The Hotel has a swimming pool would I chance swimming there ??? NOT A HOPE. Hotel needs a good clean and a paint the staff were nice and friendly but that was the only thing that was good THE OTHER ROOMS ARE COLD

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel needs a good scrub and a good lick of paint as it is very tired. The ceiling paper in the dining room was falling down. Our room no. 3 was dreadful, there was a very large crack going across the room on the ceiling. The bed was only really a 4' 6" bed, we are not big people but we found it small. The shower left a lot to be desired, it was so slow it was dreadful. We could only get internet access in the reception area next to the bar which was fine until the locals came in to play snooker and the receptionist/bar person matched them practically swear word for swear word while they were chatting. She knew we were there because she had just served us some drinks.
The lady who served us breakfast was very nice. Nothing was too much trouble for her.
I think this hotel needs a visit from the Hotel Inspector as if it had a face lift it would be a lovely hotel, close to town and wonderful views.
We won't be staying there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HelliwellsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#7 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster

Property: Lancaster
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Oban
Lancaster Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing