We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids loved it”

The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch Creran. Visit the Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, home to a spectacular aquarium as well as Scotland's leading Seal Hospital. Journey through over 50 marine displays and get up close to majestic sharks, graceful rays and enchanting seahorses. Meet our adorable seals and hear the touching stories behind their rescues or visit our playful otters. Look out for rare red squirrels and other local wildlife as you explore our Nutkins Nature Trail or have an adventure in our Forest Adventure Play Area. Afterwards, take a well-deserved rest in our Shoreline Coffee Shop and soak up the best views of Loch Creran. With fun talks and feeding displays as well as so much to see and do, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy whatever the weather!
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were at the centre on a nasty February day. The kids still loved it and the indoor aquarium is brilliant we spent at least 2 hours in there. We had a 5 month old with us and he was mesmerised by the fish. Great experience

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BedandBreakfast90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    246
    126
    64
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“over priced and pretty unhelpful”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Sealife Centre undoubtedly does a really important job, and anyone who wants to support the seal rescue programme in particular should go. But it is definitely very expensive for what there is there which is easily seen in about 90 minutes....Furthermore our "ticket for a year" turned out not to be that..when we went back with a receipt two (count them!) days later (despite plenty of evidence of attending in the form of medals etc) we were told that as our till receipt wasn't stamped we had to pay again. (Don't think we were ever told to get it stamped either). So all in all pretty poor customer service..we would probably have donated more money than the cost of the second admission with goodwill...but left with a bit of a sour taste in the mouth.

Visited April 2014
Ask Acton-Clan about Sea Life Centre

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Acton-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A great day was had by all. We went on Easter Sunday and had the added bonus of an Easter Egg Hunt which was lots of fun.
The setting is idyllic as is the set up. the staff are extremely helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusieqCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely five star review, we always love receiving these. We are very happy to hear that you managed to come along to our fantastic Easter Fun Day and we hope you went home with lots of chocolate! We are very lucky to be in this fantastic location and on a nice day it really doesn’t get much better. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff, we really are lucky to have such a passionate team. We really hope you can come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bit Pricey!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

£13 per adult. A family ahead of us changed their mind about going in because of the prices. The Acquarium was good but like any other you have been in in Scotland. There was a short woodland walk, but it was short! The highlight was seeing the Otters. The cafe didn't do it for us either as we walked and then out too. If prices are reduced, they will get a higher volume visiting and people will leave feeling it was value for money. Our tickets allowed us to re-visit but as we had no children, very little worth in doing so. There was a play area for children. Would not recommend on price alone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tullibardine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good for children”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My two children went there with their cousin and came back having had a great time. Lots of offers available so don't pay full price!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertFGCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that your children enjoyed their visit with us. We do have a lot of local and national promotions out there to offer our guests excellent value for money and it’s nice to see people taking advantage of these. We hope your children will come back and visit us again soon and you could maybe come along with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing