We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small but very personal”

The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #8 of 46 things to do in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch Creran. Visit the Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, home to a spectacular aquarium as well as Scotland's leading Seal Hospital. Journey through over 50 marine displays and get up close to majestic sharks, graceful rays and enchanting seahorses. Meet our adorable seals and hear the touching stories behind their rescues or visit our playful otters. Look out for rare red squirrels and other local wildlife as you explore our Nutkins Nature Trail or have an adventure in our Forest Adventure Play Area. Afterwards, take a well-deserved rest in our Shoreline Coffee Shop and soak up the best views of Loch Creran. With fun talks and feeding displays as well as so much to see and do, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy whatever the weather!
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Super place. Went once and got free access for week. Very small but lovely and so personal. Ceri was fab with the children...a huge asset to centre. Thanks Ceri for making our visits so memorable

1  Thank NHallWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it for us. We really do appreciate it. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and took advantage of our free seven day return. I will pass your lovely comments on to Ceri who will be delighted with them. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 555 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fascinating, if you get there at the right time, you see the otters and seals getting fed, we also got to see the seal pups which have only recently been rescued, this place does fantastic work.

1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it for us. It is great to hear that you managed to catch the otter and seal feeds during your visit as this really is the best time to experience them. Our seal pups, although a lot of hard work, are truly amazing and it is really rewarding to see them grow and return to the wild. We really hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited on 22 July with grandaughter. Place has excellent, wooded, shingle shoreline location, but thought it was rather expensive for the limited things to see and do. The Otters were the main advertised attraction but were nowhere to be seen despite us watching their pen repeatedly. The three seals were great and amusing for kids and the fish tanks interesting. Strangely enough the attractive cafe was open but a number of people were queuing up but no staff were to be seen at the counter so we all walked out and When I commented about this to the nice lady on the ticket booth she said she,d look into this. To cap off an expensive and disappointing visit, the childrens play area turned out to have a soggy and deep area of glutinous muddy bog right in it,s centre which our granddaughter of course fell into which just capped off an awful visit. We have previously been here two years ago but I have to say the place needs a bit of investment to n spruce it up if it,s to justify the admission price!

1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it for us. We are sorry you felt your visit was rather expensive. We have a huge number of local and national discounts available as well as our online discount. These along with the free seven day return we feel offers our visitors excellent value for money. The best time to see the otters is during one of their feeding demonstrations in the morning or in the afternoon, so I’m sorry you missed them during your visit. Our apologies also for their being no staff in the café when you were waiting to be served. This is something we will definitely look into and ensure that this doesn’t happen again. Our children’s play area because it is outside is difficult to keep dry and we regularly top up the bark on the ground to try and minimise the chances of muddy puddles so again we are very sorry that your granddaughter fell. I would really like to discuss things with you further so I wondered if you could email me on scottishsealifemarketing@merlinentertainments.biz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Despite the lovely location on the edge of a loch and the rehabilitation work that goes on here, we were a bit disappointed with our visit. The fish tanks and equipment was a bit rough around the edges and seemed rather outdated but there's no doubt that it provides a good day out for children.

Luckily we'd picked up a voucher for reduced priced tickets otherwise we would have paid £28 for the two of us! Everyone in the queue seemed to have some sort of discount or voucher for tickets so do try to get your hands on something similar.

Thank UntravelledPathsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write our review. We really do appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. We do have a new team in place, who are working very hard to improve some of the displays in the Sanctuary, so hopefully next time you visit you will see an improvement. It is great to hear that you took advantage of one of our discounts as these do offer excellent value for money along with a free seven day return. We do hope you will come back and visit us again and hopefully change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A little run down and expensive for what it was but will pass a couple of hours if you have children.

Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it for us. We are sorry you felt your visit to us was expensive. We have lots of discounts both locally and nationally as well as our online discount. These along with our free seven day return we feel offers excellent value for money. The Sanctuary is 35 years old this year and is designed to be very rustic and blend in with it’s natural surroundings so we are sorry that you felt it was very run down. We hope that you will visit us again and this time take advantage of one of our discounted offers and maybe this time the sanctuary will win you over with it’s rustic charm. We really hope that you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing