We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cup of tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Bay Cafe

Little Bay Cafe
Ranked #6 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: looking on to harbour at oban on sea front
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice little café near the harbor. I went for a cup of tea and a lovely scone which I enjoyed. Its well situated and the staff were quite nice. I felt welcome and would visit it again when I am in Scotland again. It was busy and it was clean. It is not too expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    49
    12
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“First-rate cup of tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I ate here twice once for lunch and once for a snack. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I had an excellent smoked salmon sandwich and a superb light fruit scone with jam. They also make a first-rate cup of tea with loose leaf-tea. It is a great place to watch the harbour and have a drink and ‘light-bite'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peeblesshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely icecream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just stopped in for a sit down and had a very lovely Strawberry Sundae which I loved. The staff could be a little friendlier.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foodsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a short break in Oban and need a 'reviver' The perfect Cream Tea with jam and scone (contrary to earlier reviewer comments our scones were more than adequate in size and excellent in taste with no bicarb after taste!)and a cup of tea or coffee was just what we needed. Friendly service too with good view of the bustling harbour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having passed by this cafe on numerous occasions, today I decided it was time to pop in for a quick bite to eat and a coffee with my daughter.

Strange as it may sound: the staff actually know how to make a great fresh sandwich! You may think this should be an easy thing to do but it clearly isn't for some. Not only that but the muffin and coffees were a dream. (oh, and being a little pernickety about coffee did not faze the staff at all....!) This is a small cafe and we clearly felt the the personal touch. Both members of staff were welcoming, friendly and the service given was efficient. We shall definitely stop by this cafe again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Bay Cafe also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Little Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing